windows license question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by gui3, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    if i own a legitimate copy of XP, currently installed on one computer, and i want to take the install disc and create an image to run on my mac in parallels.

    am i right that windows licenses are usually for two machines?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    No - window is for one machine. There are home use licenses for work/home and I've even heard of desktop/laptop use (but this is for Office not the OS), but they're pretty clear on the whole, you can't run them at the same time.
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    well, you could...but microsoft would want it to be only on one machine at a time...
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    It got a little confusing when they said 1-2 CPUs but that's intended for dual CPU setups, not too different MBs.
     
  5. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok, thats where i was confused.

    i guess MS office was differnet - i remember i was allowed to activate it on more than one machine
     

Share This Page