windows doesn't recognize full size of HDD :: anything I can do?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MP, Jan 26, 2005.

  1. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    so my copy of xp professional is pretty old (pre sp1) and when I do a clean install the BIOS of my computer recognizes the full 250gb but the xp set up screen only sees 130gb. According to western digital I need to apply sp1 but I want to be able to see the full hdd during installation.

    is there anything I can do besides buying another copy of xp?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    use something else to format the drive and it should work. Another option is to install with the max size (137GB) and then use a utility to resize it to the full 233GB after you apply SP2.
     
  3. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    If you make a XP CD with either SP1 or SP2 slipstreamed, will it format to full capacity during install?
     
  4. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    i'm not sure how to do that. I have a legit copy of xp pro on cd. I've always had to download sp1 after installing.

    How do I make a cd that will include sp1?
     
  5. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
  6. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    thanks :wavey:
     
  7. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    thanks again skinjob. I did the slipstream and integrated sp2 w/ my current copy of xp pro. Install went smoothly and it recognized the full size of my 250gb hdd right off the bat. :wavey:

    you rock!
     

Share This Page