Windows 7 resolution question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Blur, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. Blur

    Blur OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    So I just upgraded to Windows 7 professional on my laptop. However, I cant get the resolution any higher than 1024x768. It only gives the options of 800x600 or 1024x768. How can i choose a higher resolution?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Install the video card drivers.
     
  3. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    This ^

    ... Or it's an entry level Dell, and that is it's maximum resolution.
     
  4. Blur

    Blur OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    It's a Compaq with integrated video. And when I try to update the driver for the video, it says it is up to date. With vista, I was able to run 1280x800 which I would like back. Any other ideas?
     
  5. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Post exact model number.
     
  6. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    run Windows Upgrade from the Control Panel
     
  7. insignia96

    insignia96 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
    Definitely a driver issue, did the laptop com with 7 pre-installed? if that isn't the case the driver for 7 might not be ready yet. YOu may have to downgrade to Vista again.
     
  8. TheOutlawTorn

    TheOutlawTorn New Consequence Machine

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denial
    Uninstall the driver and reboot and see what windows chooses FOR you.
     

Share This Page