Windows 7 :hsugh: 32bit or 64bit

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by quid, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    So I'm going to order windwos 7 pro for my forthcoming iMac. Which one should I get?

    What kind of apps won't survive in 64bit?

    I mostly want it for quicken (or similar software) and the ms office suite maybe the occasional game.

    this marks my first time buying windows since ME :mamoru:
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    you know there is office for the mac and quicken right?

    gaming you're on your own though :mamoru:
     
  3. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Go with 64-bit and you'll be fine.
     
  4. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    I know, i'd rather kill myself than ever use MS's abortion of an OS X office suite again. From everything i've read and everyone i've talked to quicken isn't any better.
     
  5. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    are they talking about office 2008 or prior? 2008 on the mac is basically like 2007 for the pc, but with a couple extra things thrown in...
     
  6. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    And still sucks donkey balls...other than the formatting palette, I really am not a fan of Office on a mac. And 2007 for PC/2008 for Mac are fucking abominations for navigating anything.
     
  7. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    i have office 2008 on my mac right now, its terrible.
     
  8. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    agreed 100%...
    that ribbon interface is such a pain in the ass...
    horrible design...
     
  9. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    I've gotten used to it on windows but the ribbon combined with the side pallet combined with the general sluggishness is too much for me to acclimate to.

    out of frustration i timed opening word for mac against opening vmware + booting windows XP + opening word which was faster.
     
  10. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    I've got Windows 7 Professional 64-bit installed on a bootcamp partition, and it works fine with both bootcamp and VMWare. I haven't found anything I want to run on it that doesn't work yet, but I really don't use it that much.
     
  11. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    .

    The quicken for mac is just as bad as well. That's why I have to keep my virtual xp box :squint:
     
  12. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    What version of quicken do you use? i just ordered 2010 home + business
     

Share This Page