Window Activation Code Help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by headrec, Jan 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. headrec

    headrec OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ogden, Utah
    Hey

    I'm a newb for the most part with computers. My family computer had a virus so I reinstalled windows and deleted the hard drive. I had a copy that came with my laptop. It now is asking for a activation code. The one I have isn't working. Is there anything else I can do to get one. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance
     
  2. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    IBflamefestensues.
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    call microsoft, they're the only ones who can help you
     
  4. headrec

    headrec OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ogden, Utah
    Well I've been looking into it a bit. I'm just not claiming to know everything about it. What should i tell microsoft if I call them?
     
  5. Ractoon

    Ractoon Shibumi in progress...

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sure you didn't type any letter O's as zeros or vice versa?
     
  6. headrec

    headrec OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ogden, Utah
    Yep i tried switching a bunch of things.
     
  7. headrec

    headrec OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ogden, Utah
    Well looks like microsoft disabled online reactivation anyways so like dan513 said i'll have to call microsoft. Does anyone know what kind of questions they ask when calling them about this?
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    just do it, if your story actually is true, you should not have trouble with them
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    They just ask you why you're re-installing, and if it's a new computer whether you've deleted the software from the old computer. I've done it many a time.
     
  10. Toyman321

    Toyman321 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura County CA
    You are trying to install XP a computer other than your desktop which is the computer XP came with correct? So two installs of windows?

    Technically thats a no no as far as microsoft is concerned, you may have issues with key codes and whatnot, you definitly will if it's a restore disk you are trying to use and the online automatic activation wont work so you'll have to call microsoft to activate windows. Sometimes their phone activation works great but I've had issues with activating 100% legitimate copies of XP.

    All they need to know if the activation key that comes up on the screen and the product id key that is on the CD sleve, if everythings legit you should be OK.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page