WinAmp 5.5?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I use WinAmp. I've used it since version 1, and it's still my favorite music player. I did opt to skip version 3, though.

    Which brings me to my question: I'm using version 5.05 now, and version 5.5 is new and shiny, but every new version of a free product is a new opportunity to load it up with crapware. Is WinAmp 5.5 worth using?
     
  2. m0nk3y

    m0nk3y Not now, chief.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long as you monitor the install options, it's just fine. I installed it, no issues yet- runs just as quick as 1 did.
     
  3. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Yep just monitor install options but other than that I like the new interface alot.
     
  4. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Hmm...I preferred the older interface. Then again, I don't really like change so :dunno:
     
  5. urbanlegend

    urbanlegend One Love

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eternal City / Toronto
    I still say that Winamp 2.81 owns all :p
     
  6. fixthe fernback

    fixthe fernback New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    19,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still prefer my foobar2000 skin
     
  7. m0nk3y

    m0nk3y Not now, chief.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same. I forgot to put that I'm not using the new UI, I'm still using the 2.0 skin.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, so you're using 5.5 with a classic skin? Do you still get the album art and all that stuff in the Library window?
     
  9. m0nk3y

    m0nk3y Not now, chief.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be honest with ya, I don't use the library. I think I've opened it a handful of times to remove files from my iPod, but that's it... and that was a while back.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use the library to pick songs, but not to manage them. I manage them myself.
     
  11. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I never open the library. I just have all my songs in the playlist. :dunno:
     
  12. m0nk3y

    m0nk3y Not now, chief.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    same.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh god. No, I can't do that. I don't want it to keep playing forever. Sometimes I'll put on an album before I go to sleep; the last thing I need is to fall asleep to electronica and wake up at 3am to death metal.
     
  14. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Get a shut down scheduler that allows you to shut down certain programs. Just another option?
     
  15. m0nk3y

    m0nk3y Not now, chief.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    move the files to the bottom of the playlist or use the queue function, with the last track the second to last in the pl, let it play the last track on the pl after, and off.
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or I can just grab some songs from the library and let Winamp stop itself when it hits the end of the list...:hsugh:
     

Share This Page