win98 :ugh: computer help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Spur, Mar 27, 2005.

  1. Spur

    Spur Boomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    AZ
    so my friend apparently decided to "free up" some space with his old computer and now when it boots up it stops at c:\>.

    It's an old compaq model 5707 (built in '99 :eek3: )

    i've tried to use the 'quick restore' but it always says there ins't enough memory.

    I have no idea how to reformat since he has no win 98 cd for it and i'm using my old one. And my old one says there is already a version on the comp and doesn't need this cd.


    help. thanks.
     
  2. RalphL

    RalphL Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    14,951
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CT/Philly
    tell your loser friend to get a new computer
     
  3. Balddong

    Balddong New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    40,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mexico
    make a fdisk bootdisk....

    format the drives with fidsk
    and reinstall windose...
     
  4. Spur

    Spur Boomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    AZ
    how about you go kill your self. the kid is 16 years old and just uses it to write papers for school.




    and how should i do this?
     
  5. RalphL

    RalphL Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    14,951
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    CT/Philly
    sorry, man my friend posted that. he was looking on the site.
     
  6. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    please post exact error messages. when you try to install from your cd it says what?
     
  7. Swerve

    Swerve OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does anyone think that as it stops at the DOS prompt the Windows files my have been deleted leaving the best option of a full re-install?

    Have you tried typing win at the C:\ prompt or cd windows followed by win?
     
  8. Spur

    Spur Boomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    3,685
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    AZ
    i can't quite remember, I've tried so much stuff.

    the Windows 98 screen comes up still so i imagined that windows was still there.

    I'm sure the only thing left to do is a full re-install... I just don't know how to do that

    since all he has is a burnt windows 98 disk (and doesn't work) and my windows 98 se cd produces a message a little bit after the start up of the windows setup "There is already a version of windows installed on this computer" blah blah "cannot continue installation"
     
  9. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    I have reinstalled Windows 98 over the top of itself many times and never encountered a "There is already a version of Windows installed on this computer" message. Are you sure he doesn't have something newer than Windows 98 SE on the machine because then I suppose I could see an error popping up about installing an operating system older than the current one.
    Sorry, I'm not much help.
     

Share This Page