Win XP Pro system continually loops

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LabradorBoy, Jun 27, 2005.

  1. LabradorBoy

    LabradorBoy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Startup screen to boot screen, then re-boot, etc.

    No idea as to why this is happening, but I'm going to try booting in safe mode and see what happens.

    The only thing I did differently is that I hooked up a DSL service to it about a week ago. Yes, it's firewalled and locked up with Norton Antivirus, so it should be OK woth regards to an intrusion.

    The thing just continually loops and won't let me get as far as the Win XP login screen.

    Any ideas as to what could have happened? Flaky MB? Conflict? I am not getting beeps from the system at startup, so I don't think it's a component conflict.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2005
  2. 127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    who makes the computer, or is it custom?

    and exactly where does it restart itself, does it post, or does it show the items that are booting, or does it show the winxp boot screen.
     
  3. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    virus

    trojan


    take your pic, you have norton, so you essentially have no protection
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I could be getting a blue screen, but rebooting automatically...

    See if you can get into safe mode and setting the machine to halt on all errors.
     
  5. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  6. 127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    good idea
     
  7. LabradorBoy

    LabradorBoy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,515
    Likes Received:
    0

    It's a home job, but it's worked great for a year, easily.

    Everything seems fine up until the point where the "Windows XP" flash screen should change into the actual Windows desktop environment, then the PC reboots and starts all over.
     
  8. LabradorBoy

    LabradorBoy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK will try.

    F8 wouldn't bring me into safe mode at lunch hour, I'll try again after work.

    What are some other combinations to get you into safe mode? F4? F10?
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    F8 is it...

    Once the machine posts and detects your drives, keep hitting F8 until the menu comes up.
     
  10. LabradorBoy

    LabradorBoy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,515
    Likes Received:
    0

    Did that, still won't let me past the Windows XP boot screen when I select safe mode.....:dunno:
     
  11. 127.0.0.1

    127.0.0.1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    do this, boot to the windows disc, load up the recovery console.

    when it asks for a command, run both of this

    fixmbr
    fixboot

    restart, see if that works
     
  12. LabradorBoy

    LabradorBoy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crap, wish I had that a little while ago.

    I used the XP CD to do a recovery, it seems to have worked.
     

Share This Page