Will this amp wiring kit work for this amp?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by opeth, Aug 30, 2005.

  1. opeth

    opeth Guest

  2. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,488
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    No. That amp will need at least 8 AWG wiring.

    Do yourself a favor and get a quality amp kit. I always use knukonceptz.com kits, but any name brand kit will work.
     
  3. opeth

    opeth Guest

  4. opeth

    opeth Guest

    Also, right now I have a KDLH300 (JVC) HU powering my 4 speakers and two P2 subs running of a Power Acoustik LT/980 amp. If I got this amp and a wiring kit, is there anything else necessary to make it work properly?
     
  5. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. opeth

    opeth Guest

    Thanks for the suggestion, I'll go with it.

    One question though, Crutchfield said to figure out what Gauge you need you need to take the total wattage (in RMS), double it, and divide by 13.8. If it falls inbetween a certain range, that's the Gauge you need. Mine fell in the 10 Gauge range.

    http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com/ISEO-rgbtcspd/learningcenter/car/cable_gauge_chart.html

    So this kit is a 4 gauge?

    Johnson, I have an amp for my two subs, I'm getting naother amp for my speakers.
     
  7. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    How big is your power wire on the amp for the subs? Are you planning to run two different power wires? I would get a 4ga kit then a distrobution block. The 4ga wire would come from the battery to the trunk into the distro block. Then from there it would split into two 8ga outputs, one for each amp. Get it?
     
  8. opeth

    opeth Guest

    I know I have a 4 gauge running w/ my amp and subs.

    What's the easiest and cheapest way to solve this problemo?
     
  9. opeth

    opeth Guest

    bump
     
  10. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,488
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    Easiest and cheapest is to get a 4awg fused distro block and use that to connect the two amps. The only reason you may need to upgrade that wire is both amps combined will draw >120A.
     
  11. opeth

    opeth Guest

    Sorry for being a pain, but can you get the product links for me (cheapest + best, limite don funds right now)?
     
  12. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    no
     
  13. opeth

    opeth Guest

    Alright well can you explain again what I need? It seemed like babble :)
     
  14. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

  16. NisAznMonk

    NisAznMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Go to walmart. They have a decent 8awg and 4 awg kit available for ~$25.
     
  17. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    He would need a fused distro block if he was going from 4ga to 8ga.

    http://www.bcae1.com/fuses.htm
     
  18. johnson

    johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    38,412
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page