Will my laptop recognize the difference in CAS Latency for RAM?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fridexter, Apr 11, 2008.

  1. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I purchase Cas 4 memory, will my Black MacBook 2.2Ghz recognize and run it as Cas 4? Or will it run default to stock system configurations of Cas 5 regardless of what the memory can do?
     
  2. snoozeallday

    snoozeallday OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah it will run with whatever the rams default timings are.
     
  3. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if I purchase RAM that is Cas 4, it'll run Cas 4. And thus, it WOULD make a difference, right?
     
  4. snoozeallday

    snoozeallday OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would just make sure your laptop can support it, but yeah it would make a difference, however I don't know if it would be noticeable to you.
     
  5. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    The difference between Cas 4 and 5 is only $10, it's worth it to me.

    Is there any particular reason why my laptop wouldn't be able to support it? Does anyone know if the BIOS for Mac's run latency based on what the RAM chips are specified at, or does it run at Cas 5 regardless of what memory is installed?

    :dunno:
     
  6. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Don't think it's gonna be very noticeable.
     
  7. fridexter

    fridexter Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    10,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    At this point, I don't care about speed. I just want to know if the Macbook will recognize and run the memory as Cas4.

    :o
     
  8. snoozeallday

    snoozeallday OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never heard of any system not using the RAM's specifications. That could be damaging. So i'm going to say yes, it will recognize cas4.
     

Share This Page