Will I need a new PSU?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ChampionSpellor, Mar 14, 2005.

  1. ChampionSpellor

    ChampionSpellor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    4.5 GPA
    My new computer will be coming in a week, here are the specs:

    3.0 P4 800 FSB
    512 RAM
    80 GB HD
    CDRW Drive
    Floppy Drive

    I'm planning on adding
    CHAINTECH nVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Video Card, 256MB DDR, 128-bit, DVI/TV-Out, PCI, Model "P-FX20" -RETAIL
    - $96 shipped

    HAUPPAUGE WINTV-PVR 150 MCE PERSONAL VIDEO RECORDER - 1042 (TV Tuner Card)
    - $75 shipped






    Keep in mind that this is a dell dimension 3000:mamoru:, the stock PSU is this:

    Power
    Input voltage: 100 to 120V at 60 Hz; or 200 to 240 V at 50 Hz
    Output wattage: 250 Watts maximum continuous
    Output voltage: 3.3V, 5V, and 12V
    Heat dissipation: 853 BTU/hour (fully loaded computer without monitor)
    Power management: APM
    Backup battery: 3.0 V CR2032 coin cell







    So do you think I will need a better PSU? Any recommendations if I do?



    Ps. I heard that DELL PSU are proprietary, any truth to this?:greddy:
     
  2. Sonar_un

    Sonar_un Prowler Orange

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Yes.. and yes

    It depends on what dell model you have. Most of them are proprietary. However, you can always just swap your components to a new case. Most dell motherboards are at least ATX compatible.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    actually, many dell models use a proprietary ATX power connector which results in a fried mobo when using an aftermarket power supply. They stopped doing this due to problems with customers upgrading systems.

    An FX5200 and PVR-150 are not high-power cards, and I highly doubt you'll run into problems keeping your stock psu.
     
  4. Sonar_un

    Sonar_un Prowler Orange

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    I thought of that too. However the fact that he has a 3.0 P4/800 is what threw me to the thought of a new power supply. He will be hitting his limit with a 250W PSU. He really doesn't have that much room for upgrade.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    i still don't think it'll be much of a problem. Give it a try.
     
  6. Sonar_un

    Sonar_un Prowler Orange

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Yeah, couldn't hurt to at least try it. Its not going to blow up your PSU. Worst case scenario, you won't be able to boot your system. Just unplug one of your cards and call dell for a new PSU :)

    Just be prepared to pay a pretty penny and be on the phone for 11ty billion hours talking to some guy from India.
     

Share This Page