Will CS:Source run on a MacBook with 1GB ram?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by tun, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. tun

    tun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    54,960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    :x: am I gonna need 2GB? :hs:
     
  2. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    my brother plays CS source on an iMac with 1 GB RAM
     
  3. tonpu

    tonpu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,914
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF 北 area
    The bottleneck wont be the ram, it will be the graphics card. It wont matter if you have 1 or 2gb it will still run like shit.
     
  4. tun

    tun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    54,960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    what size though? the 20 inch and above I know have a dedicated video card. I only mention the amount of RAM in my macbook because it uses the intel integrated graphics and it's very dependent on the amount of system ram you have.
     
  5. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    he uses my dads 20 iMac with the 256 MB ATI Radeon X1600 i believe
    but he says that it runs amazing at about 100 fps
     
  6. tonpu

    tonpu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,914
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF 北 area
    integrated graphics = crap, probably around 10-30 fps 800x600 if you are lucky
     
  7. MonkMonk

    MonkMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    38,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't even dare
     
  8. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    don't bother
     
  9. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    stupid macbook ant their terrible integrated graphics...
     
  10. Glitch

    Glitch Da Pulp

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
    i get like 20fps in XP or Vista on Boot Camp, or on Crossover :hs:
     
  11. tun

    tun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    54,960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    :hs: how much ram do you have?
     
  12. Glitch

    Glitch Da Pulp

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
    1GB :wtc:
     
  13. John Galt

    John Galt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  14. poweraid

    poweraid OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    55,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    getting bootcamp today on my mpb will see how well it plays cs. macbooks will probably run it like shit tho. I wouldn't even bother.
     
  15. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    macbooks have like 64 mb of ram, :eek3:
     
  16. poweraid

    poweraid OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    55,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    my hdd is messed up and wont run it lol oh well I dont care I dont really want it after seeing how messed up it made my friends mbp. his is slow as shit now. :o
     
  17. MonkMonk

    MonkMonk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    38,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    it would work well with an imac, either with 128mb or the 256mb. Not gonna happen on a macbook though
     

Share This Page