Will a 350W PSU be enough for my new A64 system?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jeri534, Jun 6, 2004.

  1. jeri534

    jeri534 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,343
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ive been reading some posts at other forums saying that I shouldn't even boot up for the first time with my PSU on my system, but Im thinking I should be fine, what do you think?

    Athlon 64 3000+
    Asus K8V SE Deluxe
    512MB PC3200 DDR400
    Western Digital 80GB HDD SATA w/ 8MB Cache
    CoolerMaster Praetorian
    Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
    ATI 9800 Pro

    And the PSU I am getting is a Antec SL350
     
  2. Stev

    Stev Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    350w is pretty standard, but 400w is better. U will be fine until u start adding more drives.
     
  3. Brian

    Brian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The 949
    ya u should be fine

    why not get like dual regular not sata 80gb hds and do a raid 0

    better speed would be acheived
     
  4. Meat0r

    Meat0r New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    As long as the PSU is from a reputable manufacturer you'll be fine because all the top brands (Antec, Enermax etc) rate their PSUs on their 24/7 output. But many small companies e.g Q-Tec rate them on max output. So for example the 550W Q-Tec Model may be able to supply 550W for one nanosecond but for 99.9% of its operation it'll supply only around 320W.

    What brand is your PSU?
     
  5. jeri534

    jeri534 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,343
    Likes Received:
    8
  6. Meat0r

    Meat0r New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It's an Antec so it'll be fine :)
     
  7. V

    V Corrupt and Immoral

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    24,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    couldnt hurt to get a 400W though :dunno: i know nvidia reccomends at leats 480W PSU to run their new 4600 card...i realize you dont have a card like this, but if you ever decide to upgrade, why not just get a good, reliable psu now that you can use for a long time? its not that much more expensive. either way though, you'll probably be fine. im running my machine with a 9600Pro, two hard drives, two optical drives, and 768 MB RAM on a 250W PSU right now and its fine :hs:
     

Share This Page