Wifi connection Problems (Keep having to refresh DHCP Lease)

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ferrari430, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. Ferrari430

    Ferrari430 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    At home my internet connection on my mac does not stay connected for longer than 10 minutes. AFter that, I have to renew my DHCP Lease, and then it's okay for another 10 min. My bro has the same problem on his mac, however windows xp runs fine at home so it's a mac related problem. Another note to conisder is that this only happens at my home, not at other places like my school or what have you. I have the newest macbook in case your wondering. I've googled the problem and other people seemed to have had it as well but hadn't really found a fix. Any ideas???
     
  2. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    What kind of Mac do you have? What type of wireless network (802.11b, g, or n)? Have you installed the Airport updated that was released Friday?
     
  3. Ferrari430

    Ferrari430 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Weird, it was screwy for like a week but today it seems to have fixed it self... I'll post again if I have problems.
     
  4. Ferrari430

    Ferrari430 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Okay wow. Now the macbook won't connect at all through wifi.. Through ethernet it is fine, but if I try to use wifi either at home OR at school it won't connect. Anything I can do to sort of trouble shoot this problem? I tried network diagnostics but it didn't help much.
     
  5. Ferrari430

    Ferrari430 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    To add to that, the airport status either will say connected or self-assigned IP.
    When I go advanced, it shows the IPv4 address, and the Subnet Mask, but not the Router. However, my brother is on his mac as we speak and has no problems.

    I'm on the newest macbook, am on 802.11b, and did indeed install that previous update.
     
  6. MAD PUNK inDC

    MAD PUNK inDC Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    86,393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    the machine
    dscacheutil -flushcache

    seems to help if you move from network to network.
     
  7. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    something else you can try that I've found works sometimes...

    go to your network settings
    go to the wireless settings
    go to the "prefered networks" list and remove everything from there
    restart
    then connect to your network

    see if that helps... i know sometimes the keys or whatever get messed up...
     

Share This Page