wierd problem with wireless linksys router

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Insert, Oct 13, 2007.

  1. Insert

    Insert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    28,920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    cant quite put it into a few words so i couldn't search anywhere for it :sad2:

    the wireless router (linksys WRT54G v5)we use to hook everyone up to the internet in the house, just kind of stops working after a while at random times. its on and all the lights are on and shit, but its like it closed all the doors and nothing gets through it.

    so then we have to power cycle the modem then plug it back in, and it will work fine.

    any solutions to this problem or am i missing something big and haven't set it up right? my roommates have had this router for a couple years, ive only lived with it for a short time and want to fix it cause its fucking gay.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    dd::wrt
     
  3. lolerskates

    lolerskates New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    in english?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    google.com
     
  5. GimmeSomeSugar

    GimmeSomeSugar Batman

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    0
    i also have the same problem where it "locks up", something about using too much bandwidth i have no clue how to fix it
     
  6. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    get a new router. problem solved.
     
  7. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Linksys WRT54G's do this. They are defective. Either go through the often lengthy and troublesome process of installing a custom operating system for it called DD::WRT, or buy a new router.

    I recommend the DIR-655. Works like a charm right out of the box, and rated fastest in almost every category. They are $150. DD::WRT is free, but takes some time to setup.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, 2 minutes is a long fucking time :rolleyes:
     
  9. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    It failed to install on my router after 45 minutes of fucking with it. My competence exceeds that of the OP. Therefore results will vary.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I guess I just must be that awsome then :shrugs:
     
  11. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or maybe support between hardware versions varies.
     
  12. Lynn

    Lynn Yes my wife does and no you can't watch.

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    13,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Friendswood, Texas
    Have you "reset" it?

    There is a small hole on the back of the router just large enough to stick a paper clip in.
    Try that out.
     
  13. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can reset it all you want. The problem will persist. This model of router is defective.
     
  14. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    It's been a problem with linksys routers for years.
     
  15. Cock Diesel

    Cock Diesel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    23,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Buffalo WHR-G125 ftw. Costs $45 on average and it actually works.
     
  16. spec09

    spec09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a wrt54gs, the one with speed booster, and had that problem. Whenever i turned on my xbox, the computer would stop working. It's the network card in your computer. Linksys doesn't like some of them. Just go out and buy a new network pci card for 10 bucks and it should be fine.
     
  17. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no. It's not the network card. It's the router choking on the quantity of connections.
     

Share This Page