Why would my pc just shut off??

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by owenstar, Jan 18, 2006.

  1. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will be doing nothing....doing something...doesnt matter...it just shuts off all random like...

    thanks
     
  2. noxxs

    noxxs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    laptop or destop?
     
  3. Chadder007

    Chadder007 OG Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    15,326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Power Supply possibly....or bad RAM.
     
  4. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a desktop

    I think it has something to do with stealing music from kaazaa or warez...
     
  5. Cash--

    Cash-- New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    bsod?
     
  6. MrMan

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you say shut off, it shuts down completely or restarts?

    If it restarts, an error is occuring but you're just not seeing it. The following will disable automatic restarts, and see the error.
    1. Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
    2. Click the Advanced tab.
    3. Under Startup and Recovery, click Settings to open the Startup and Recovery dialog box.
    4. Clear the Automatically restart check box, and click OK
     
  7. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Can you check the Windows Event log and see if there are any errors coming up under system around the time when the computer is crashing. To do this go to Control panel -> administrative tools -> Windows Event Log

    Let us know :big grin:
     
  8. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry guys...I am so retarded when it comes to computers...

    It shuts off...not like it turns itself off...it doesnt power down...it fades to black in a blink

    When I turn it back on it goes through the thing saying one or more of your disks may have an error...you are supossed to let the pc shut down blah blah blah

    It happens after a few hours...or just a few minutes...its really random

    the only bit of help or clue I can give is during the reboot while scanning it says something about FAT32 ??????
     
  9. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Hey mate,
    Can you go to the Windows Event log for me and see if there are any errors coming up around the time that the computer is crashing?

    To do this go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Event Viewer -> System (on the left). Copy and paste any errors that you are getting into here, or better yet post a screenshot.

    Thanks mate; Have a good one.
     
  10. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will do that when I get home to the pc...

    Thanks for the help guys...I appreciate it
     
  11. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok it says

    Error source is DCOM

    in the properties it says...unable to start a DCOM server
     
  12. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Wow.. Really weird but I came across this not two weeks ago with one of my girlfriends mums friends sons (now THATs a mouthful).

    Try stopping the DCOM service under Administrative Tools -> Services and see how you go. If that doesn't work ill do some googling and find out what's up.

    Michael
     
  13. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't work...
     
  14. fly

    fly Goat Snowballer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    Power supply
     
  15. mash4077

    mash4077 Guest

    had this with a machine at work, random restarts, at first once a week or so, then got more frequent til one day it restarted every 10 secs or so. fucked. turned out to be a dodgy ram bay on the motherboard. dunno how the mit lot checked for that and found it but they did.
     
  16. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its funny how many different damn things it can be...I am lost
     
  17. happyrobots

    happyrobots Ü

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phx
    There's programs out there to test your ram, grab one of them and test it once it's running. At least then you'll be able to narrow the problem, hopefully.
     
  18. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    its so random...sometimes I get an hour out of it...sometimes five minutes
     
  19. JaxFlJon

    JaxFlJon Guest

    overheating
     
  20. James Bond

    James Bond Guest

    Word, if it is really dusty it will do funny things. :wavey: try blowing it out if it is
     
  21. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clinical depression. You should liquid cool it and put a badass video card in it so it feels like its life has meaning again.

    EDIT: Or, it might just be overheating. Clean the dust off the fans, off the heatsinks, and out of the power supply. DO NOT USE CANNED AIR! You don't know what the dust is made of, and you don't want to blow it into places you can't get it out of. Like I did when I cleaned my motherboard and the BIOS didn't work afterwards. I looked it over with a photographer's magnifying glass and discovered that I had shorted it out with a random tiny shard of metal from a screw hole in the computer case. Use an artist's paintbrush to clean the dust off the motherboard and hold a vacuum cleaner hose nearby to suck the dust away. It's not as convenient, but it works better and it's a lot safer.
     
  22. Seiz

    Seiz ヽ(´ー`)┌

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    27,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. louis, Misery
    what size is ur power s upply, hwo mcuh crap do u have plugged into it
     
  23. fly

    fly Goat Snowballer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    bad ram would not just shut off your PC. It would blue screen.

    btw, make you have the auto restart option off under system properties > advanced tab > Startup and Recovery settings
     
  24. owenstar

    owenstar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    The thing is brand new > no dust

    dont know how much is plugged into my power supply
     
  25. StainMeNow

    StainMeNow New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm with all the guys on this one saying to first test your RAM with MemTest
    http://www.memtest86.com/

    And if that's running through no problem without errors, then the likely culprit would be the power supply (assuming that the problem is hardware).

    And if you're really feeling overwhelmed or lost, just call your manufacturer, if it's brand new it's still under warranty. Good luck!
     

Share This Page