Why wont windowa xp install on my pc?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Grouch, May 11, 2007.

  1. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    I load up my windows cd, it sees the HD, I reformat and instal windows. It goes through the whole install and quick format thing. Then when it rebots it says operating system couldn't be loaded.

    wtf.

    Hard drive and DVD drive show up on the bios just fine. The HD on IDE 0 and DVD on 1.
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Check the boot order in the BIOS. It sounds maybe the hard drive isn't specified in the boot order. Otherwise :dunno:. Is this a new build?
     
  3. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    I just did.

    First the CD was set to boot first. That is how I installed, or got through the set up program, of windows. It was then give me the "error loading operating system"

    I just switched it in the bios to boot to HD first and after a mintue of extra thinking it gave me the same error.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    "the whole install and quick format thing"

    So it fails at the point that windows formats your drive?

    That sounds like your drive isn't working.

    Has this drive had an operating system on it before?
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Maybe try a full format instead of quick?
     
  6. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,459
    Likes Received:
    12
    .

    this dumb solution has worked for me in the past.
     
  7. Grouch

    Grouch Guest


    Well it fails right after you're prompted to reboot after you've selected to install windows on a paratition and it does the whole yellow bar counting to 100% thing.

    no this HD has only been used for data like mp3s and porn.
     
  8. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    Thanks i'll try that.
     
  9. Grouch

    Grouch Guest


    did the full format, same problem.

    could ram be the issue?
     
  10. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Could be. Or maybe there's a problem with the drive. Download memtest86 and Seatools. Both will make bootable CDs you can use to test your system.
     
  11. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is rough.

    Here's a few things to try:
    1. unplug power, reset BIOS settings to default
    2. change which motherboard header the drive is plugged into (small chance this is the prob, but it's a quick/free test of the motherboard controller)
    3. finally, try a differnt hard drive. The outcome of this will confirm/deny that the HDD you've been using is a junker.

    At this point, I'd give 7/10 odds that there's a HDD failure.
     
  12. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    running a windows memory test now.
     
  13. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    It's possible the partition is not the active partition, or you could try fixing the master boot record.
     
  14. Grouch

    Grouch Guest


    Well when I'm installing windows it seems to create a partition each time. Because after if fails the install when I try again there is another partition there that I delete when trying to install again.

    How would I fix the master boot record? Sould that be in the bios somewhere?
     
  15. copiertalk

    copiertalk Secure Our Borders! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west texas
  16. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
  17. Grouch

    Grouch Guest

    It's ok, thanks for the help DD. :kiss:
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    For future reference, "Operating System Not Found" means that the computer is trying to boot off the hard drive, but the hard drive doesn't have an operating system on it yet. Always set your computers to boot from the floppt drive first, CD drive second, and hard drive third. This will avoid the "Operating System Not Found" problem in the future.
     

Share This Page