Why won't my new PC stay connected to the Internets? v.USB Adapter

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Justin Niggalake, Nov 9, 2007.

  1. Justin Niggalake

    Justin Niggalake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    32,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I just bought a new desktop for my bedroom. Since the primary desktop, cable modem & wireless router are way on the other side of my home in the study, i have to rely on a wireless home network for my laptop, etc.

    I had 2 usb wireless adapters laying around the house (a Belkin & a Netgear) and for some reason, they won't keep my new desktop connected to the inets.

    I've installed the software that came with them, drivers, updated the drivers, everything. It's like when I plug in the adapter, it'll quickly get online. Then no less than 5 minutes later, it'll drop the connection and it'll say 'no wiress network available' It is then, I have to unplug the adapter & plug it back in just to get online.

    WTF?!

    Can someone please tell me wtf is going on. I never have a problem staying online with my 2 laptops.

    BTW, I'm running Windows Vista on my primary laptop & my new desktop. I'm running windows XP on the rest of the computers (including the desktop thats wired into the router)
     
  2. Justin Niggalake

    Justin Niggalake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    32,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    anybody? plz

    :dunno:
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    don't be ghetto, run a cat6.
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i've had hit or miss luck with usb adapters. usually pci wifi cards are a little better
    you could try updating the firmware on the router

    is the router too far away for a decent signal? that could be a problem

    i'm with jolly, i'll take wired over wireless anyday
     
  5. Justin Niggalake

    Justin Niggalake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    32,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    i found out the problem. apparently you can't have the native windows internet *can't think of the word* and the adapter's internet program working simultaneously. dur
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    from my experience, it will tell you that it is using the adapters program and windows cannot configure it

    if it fixed your problem, good
     

Share This Page