why the hell does my video look like this?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by babygodzilla, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    there's all this green hue on the video. wtf is going on? i've installed K-Lite and Combined Codec Pack. ive tried VLC Player, Media Player 10, Media Player Classic, etc. all looks like this. please help?
    thanks!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. bandit320

    bandit320 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check your connections to video card and your monitor. Looks like the cable is not set properly or maybe a bad cable.
     
  3. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Obvious question here...does this happen on all videos?
     
  4. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is a cheap laptop i got from work. not desktop.

    yep, all videos.


    its even worse in Win Media Player. the audio is accompanied by a nasty constant hissing noise.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take a Printscreen of the same screen, so we can see if Windows "knows" about the green tint, or if it's something happening in the hardware.
     
  6. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like its the hardware. couldn't take a printscreen.

    i uninstalled CCCP and KLite codec pack and the hissing in media player stopped. still green video.

    FYI this is a Compaq V6700 w intel express 965
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, now that I think about it, you can't printscreen DVD videos anyway -- copyright BS.

    It sounds like you're on the right track, though; uninstall all the codec packs you have, including the one that decodes DVDs, then reinstall the DVD codec and see if it works right. Proceed from there until you find the codec that's causing the problem.
     
  8. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    You can, and it has absolutely nothing to do with copyright. It has to do wit the video overlay system - you end up capturing the overlay color instead. There are a few tricks to get around that.

    ---

    That pic looks just like a tv with the Red cable unplugged in the YCrCb component.

    Can you see reds with photos, the web, etc? If so its not a hardware, cable or a monitor issue. I'd point to the codecs.
     
  9. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    :rofl:

    you are the master of assumptions
     
  10. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, pictures are fine. web is fine. streaming video is fine. can you recommend a specific codec to install?

    update: just installed DivX. no luck. should i uninstall before trying another codec, or should i just install over it?
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It never worked when I tried it.
     
  12. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    lol deus yes you can noob... not with the windows print screen button though, has nothing to do with copyrights or anything simply that you cannot grab that section of the display because it is being rendered on a different virtual "surface" than the rest of the UI around it, which you would get, with a black area where the video was.

    Also, you can see the OP's face as a reflection in that picture lol
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know the original pic was taken with a camera -- I'm not totally out of it. That's why I wanted to see a Printscreen too, so I could see if the data was tinted green, or if it was being rendered improperly on the screen.

    Anyway, now I know why I could never screencap movies.
     
  14. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    you can screencap movies if you use the screen capture built into the player.
     
  15. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Or turn off hardware acceleration so windows doesn't overlay the video image.
     
  16. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    have you ever taken a print screen of hardware accelerated video then pasted it in something like photoshop? it does weird stuff, like the video part will be all black but if you move the window around parts of the video will start showing up in the black area. i don't know why it does that :noes:
     
  17. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is interesting and all, but can we get back to giving me more advice on how to fix this? thanks
     
  18. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    tried reinstalling video drivers?
     
  19. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    It's been explained in the thread? :hsugh:
     
  20. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    ok well i know WHY it does it, but it's weird. freak!
     
  21. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i have.
     
  22. EkriirkE

    EkriirkE Zika Xenu OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dublin & San Francisco, CA
    is it just this one video, or any video you play?
     
  23. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    if you play the video the picture plays it too sometimes
     

Share This Page