Why should i get an airport extreme over a regular router?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Casino, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. Casino

    Casino Guest

    I've had a $30 d-link router for the past 3 years and it worked great until a few weeks ago and I think its dying. I need a new wireless router for the 5 computers in my house. why would i spend $150 for an airport extreme when i can get a cheap router for like $40 that will work for a long time? What's so good about it?
     
  2. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    No real reason to get the Airport Extreme unless you wanna attach a network hard drive. You can get 802.11n from other wireless routers too if you need that.
     
  3. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i got one as a present from some friends.

    it replaced my linksys WRT54G.

    i now have 802.11n, gigabit ethernet, and USB disk/printer support.

    what i lost was one ethernet port, and a lot of advanced administration. so far i've been very happy with the faster speeds.
     
  4. REDandBLACKpack

    REDandBLACKpack Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    I have an airport extreme. I got it off of ebay for around $60. I love it, easy to set up. I dont really know a lot about computers but it does what I need. Now I can have less wires for my laptop, my ps3 is online and my printer is wireless (kinda).
     
  5. squid

    squid braap

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    91403
    You shouldn't, just get a cheap one.
     
  6. Dude

    Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Get a Time Capsule
     
  7. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    for what it's worth, it's about the only router on the market that will do 802.11n in the 5GHz band. If your wireless devices support this, the speed should be astronomical compared to the 2.4 GHz garbage band, where microwaves and a lot of other devices can fuck with the spectrum and lower the SNR of your link.

    Oh, and Apple products are always at their best price points when they're first released, since Apple doesn't usually revise the price down as the same technology gets cheaper (surprise surprise). The new AEBS was just released, making it an acceptable price/performance ratio for the time being.
     
  8. fatass

    fatass New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except when they lowered the price on the iPhone, then you got screwed of $200
     
  9. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Only real reason over the cheap ones is the Airport Utility on the Macs lets you easily configure the router. Whereas if you get your basic generic one you do it through the web interface.

    I found my 802.11g base station on eBay for $30. Works perfectly fine and gets great speeds.
     
  10. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking about getting an extreme so I could share a printer wirelessly, now the Time Capsule is out, HD included ftw.
     
  11. Dude

    Dude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    :werd:
     
  12. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    I don't think the Airport Utility requirement is a good thing. About 25% of the time, none of my Macs will recognize my Airport Express even though they are currently connected to it. At least with a web-interface you can always get in. Not always the case with the Airport Utility.
     
  13. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Sounds like either a firewall or permission problem. Apple's default firewall settings will not allow you to connect to a base station.
     
  14. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    If i didn't need my VPN router i'd be all over one of these Time Capsule things.
     

Share This Page