why doesnt the network drive stay connected

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DigiCrime, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Constantly disconnects or never stays connected :greddy:
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Details?

    Is it mapped? How?
     
  3. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Could have something to do with the security settings.
     
  4. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Yea... more details.

    Along with what's already been asked. Wired or wirelss (asking for both sides)? Through router or direct attach?
     
  5. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    mapped yea. wired connection. Sonicwall router TZ170. Once its disconnected you attempt to click it says it cannot be found. Disconnect it, then reconnect it, it works fine. :dunno: just doesn't stay that way long. One computer has Vista the other has Windows 2000. Vista isn't attached to the domain, Win2000 one is.

    Tried as \\serv01\folder and \\ipaddress\folder incase it was a dns issue but doesnt seem to matter. so has to be a bad nic, network cable or something else.
     
  6. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Just to add. This is remote desktop users, not on their local computers. They are RDP into the server.
     
  7. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    antivirus..
     
  8. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Doesn't exist. Computers have no access to the internet
     
  9. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    anyone :hs: event log is pretty clean
     
  10. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    any packet loss?
     
  11. Fase

    Fase Your Face, In A Pickle Jar.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, Ont, Canada.
    I get the same issue.
     
  12. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Have no idea I doubt it since everything else functions just fine. Would have to hook up a sniffer forget what you call it wireshark or something ?
     
  13. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Could schedule a batch file that runs periodically in the background that disconnects and reconnects. :dunno: Doesn't actually solve the problem but it's a workaround.


    net use \\computername\sharename /delete
    net use \\computername\sharename
     
  14. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    There has to be something whether its system related, or you have an application causing TCP/IP issues.
     

Share This Page