A&P Why does Lightroom "auto adjust" my RAW photos?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by FusionZ06, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    It appears that everything is off...

    Bridge does the same thing. I'd rather shoot in JPG if this keeps happening :mamoru:
     
  2. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    it's the other way around. The raw is the raw exposure.

    Your jpg has color, sat, sharp, etc. settings already baked into it.

    If you want your raw's to look like your jpg's then apply an import setting.
     
  3. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,420
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    you're just looking for an excuse not to shoot in RAW, aren't you? :o
     
  4. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    pretty much :o
     
  5. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,420
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    then don't ask us why you should change. Do what you want... you seem to be pretty hard headed like that already, why bother now? ;)
     
  6. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    I'm obviously kidding...
     
  7. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Well - going back to Capture NX2 - it works quite well...
     
  8. wrong1

    wrong1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    When you import your raw photos into lightroom, it shows you a glimse of it with all of your in camera settings... almost like a teaser. Then it takes them all away and leaves you with the raw file to edit. In camera settings like sharpness and saturation are discarded. If you shoot in jpeg then these settings are applied in-camera and not taken away by lightroom.
     
  9. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Yeah so I'm figuring out from my reading.
     
  10. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    its because LR does not have nikons camera data settings, and nikon wont give that info away. u can d/l a plugin that will make the pic appear similar, but never the same, only capturenx can do that
     
  11. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Yeah I'll stick with CaptureNX - It's a good program.
     
  12. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fusion, doesn't LR apply auto settings more correctly on your D300 files than your D50?

    At least that's my finding especially with WB.
     
  13. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Yes but still "off" in my eyes.
     
  14. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    I have it set to apply the preset "General - Zeroed" on import. They come in looking light, then when they get zeroed they become quite dull and dark.
     
  15. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,131
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    "Sync settings "in LR is a godsend as are presets on import.
     
  16. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,420
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    this. :bowdown:

    cuts my editing time to (almost) nothing. Like Ron Popeil says, "just set it, and forget it" :mamoru:
     
  17. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    More details on "Sync settings" and what it does?

    Also, does anyone have mojito's boost preset? I want it, but the link is down :o
     
  18. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,420
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Houston
    I have mojitos preset... Here you go! <--- Link

    Also, Sync is basically if you want the same preset to apply to all your images. You set one pic, Cntrl + A, and hit the Sync... button on the bottom right. It applies that preset to ALL your pics. Then you can go back and tweak as needed. Cuts down a lot of time when you're editing 1000+ pics.
     
  19. hootpie

    hootpie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    35,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ahhh I see. I can see that coming in handy if you're a wedding photographer.

    Edit: Thanks for the link btw.

    What is split toning?
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2009
  20. THE mister juice

    THE mister juice jfk→sea

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    30,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Astoria, NY
  21. SonicYan

    SonicYan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    What do you mean auto adjust? Like it makes its own WB settings? When I import RAW files, the default preview picture is the "as shot" WB, which I'm guessing is LR's take on what the picture should actually look like.
     
  22. ov3n

    ov3n Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like, when you click a photo you've imported for the first time and it "renders preview" it'll go from typically having richer, darker colors to an untouched image.
     
  23. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  24. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh yea...if you don't have camera profile installed pictures out of LR isn't going to look very good.
     
  25. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page