SRS why do people have children?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by cent, Jan 20, 2009.

1. cent

cent New Member

my gf really wants to have a child with me, but I don't want one. She is about to turn 25 and I'm 29.I've never had any desire to have children and can't think of any reason why I need one. I don't want to be single forever, however, but it's pretty much down to if I don't get her pregnant then she is leaving me. And pretty much all of the other women i've been with have wanted to have kids too, although none have broken up with me solely because I don't want to have children (most of the others broke up with either because they weren't what I was looking for, or her family didn't like me). I don't think there is anything especially wrong with me, I work in the computer field making average salary for the area, have a house, 3 cars (95 - 00 model years, not new, but not too old either, and all 3 run fine), in good health, etc.

I said maybe after we get married we can have a child, but really, I don't want to have any and have always felt this way. I just don't want to change diapers for 2 years, and then have a screaming, crying kid for the next 3 years. She has a 4 year old from another guy, and she tells me how good I am to him and a good replacement for his father who almost never talks to his son, and I don't have a problem taking care of a kid. I think honestly, that its easier to take care of a kid that is not mine then to take care of one that is mine. Anyway I don't really know what to do, I don't want to lose her, she's good to me, but I don't really want to have a child either.

2. Variant

Variant Cast in the name of God, ye not guilty.

I cut everything else out because this is the main point right here. If she's giving you ultimatums like this you need to show her the door.

People have kids for a lot of different reasons, but if you're not ready, you're not ready, and there's absolutely nothing wrong with that.