Why are calves so hard to train?

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Dobis P.R., Oct 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dobis P.R.

Dobis P.R. Guest

I'm still a beginner so don't laugh at my low numbers. But today I did this.

I used a pyramid scheme on all exercises working up to the numbers that I give below for my last set.

5x5 squat (past parallel) 185
    5x5 bench 140
    5x5 deadlift 185
    standing barbell calf raises (I did one set of 10 at 165, then another set of 10 at 185, then instead of going for 10 at 205 I just kept going to test my endurance and went for 25 reps before I decided that I had done enough)

why are my numbers for calves so disproportionate to my squat numbers? And I can even do more weight than I did today but significantly more is going to be difficult to hold on my back. does training traps help you support a barbell on your back? or should I just not be a pussy and deal with the pain of putting a shit ton of weight on your back.

p.s. do I look like a jackass doing my standing barbell calf raises inside the squat rack? while I was at the gym today I saw three kids doing curls in there so at least I'm not the worst.

2. disblohs

disblohs I can't shake this little feeling I'll never get a

3. John Blaze

John Blaze New Member

4. Devil

Devil I have become my terror. OT Supporter

srsly

:wtf:

5. Dobis P.R.

Dobis P.R. Guest

this is a serious question that I'd appreciate an answer to. why is f&n so hard on beginners?

6. Marijuanair

Marijuanair Remember to have your pet spayed or neutered! OT Supporter

calves are always hard to train, I dont know what to say. You're not gonna find much help on F&N either, just alot of flaming.

7. Dobis P.R.

Dobis P.R. Guest

last week was my first week doing these and I did 3x10 (155, 175, 195) and my calves weren't even sore the next day. I guess I'm just underestimating how much weight I should be using.

8. Marijuanair