Who wants to be helpful? Motorcycle question.

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Astringent, Feb 26, 2004.

1. Astringent

Astringent Hai!

I'm a motorcycle newbie. I will be getting my license this summer. I am looking for a cheap bike, preferably a bit sporty.

I would REALLY like to spend $2500 or less for my first bike, but if it's worth it, I am willing to chuck up to $5000 (absolute top limit) for a bike if it's something I will keep around for a while.

Here's an example: I was at the motorcycle dealer during lunch, and while I was absolutely LUSTING over the Yamaha YZF6 (I think), as well as the R6, the only thing in there that I would actually pay for was the Kawasaki Ninja 500, for $4500.

Help me out guys. Looking for new or used.

cliff notes: New biker. Want bike. $2500 or less, $5000 or less if it's something worth keeping. Help.

2. TRN

TRN Well-Known Member

Everyone says to get something crappy as your first bike because you are most likely going to drop it anyways. :dunno: I want one, but have to pay off my car first.

3. PatrickB

PatrickB I bring you the pancake bunny!

You should be able to find a first bike for $2500 or less. Check ebay and local papers.

Dont go to the dealer and get a new bike. Get a used one because you will probably drop it and fuck it up anyway. You dont need anything great to learn on.

I would say either of those bikes would be okay to learn on as long as you dont over do it but they are at the top.

4. sjsharks14

sjsharks14 He's thrown a kettle over a pub. What have you don

My first bike was a yamaha FZR400 it was great to learn on. You should be able to get a good FZR 600 for around 2,500. They are pretty dependable and fast. After you have that bike, you would have a better idea of what suits you.

5. Astringent

Astringent Hai!

I'd probably kill myself in an R6, so I'd pass on that even if money weren't an object.