Who Stole My Megahurts?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Sexual Vanilla, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    [​IMG]

    Just curious here...sometimes my 1.83GHz processor will show as a different clock speed as shown in the screenshot. It'll swap back to 1.83GHz every so often. What's going on when this happens?
     
  2. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Might be intel speed step where it reduces the multiplyer when the cpu is not under load.
     
  3. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,916
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Indiana
    It's showing what your processor is currently running at, system properties won't show the change from speedstep. Your mobo is probably clocking back your processor for some reason.
     
  4. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Why would it do that? I don't know about anyone else...but I'd like my computer to run as fast as possible all the time. Anything I can do about it?
     
  5. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Download CPU-Z and check there. It is the only utility I would trust in reading the correct CPU clock.
     
  6. Sailor Jerry

    Sailor Jerry OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    35,171
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Dirtona Beach
    Most newer computers do that. It's to save on power and it shouldn't impact performance. As soon as you do anything that uses the CPU it jumps back up to full speed.
     
  7. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    You have a laptop. There's no point for the proc to run at full speed during idle. It saves you power and generates less heat. When you're using the proc, it will operate at full speed.

    read up on speedstep. A good feature to keep enabled.

    if you have to disable it, it's in your bios.
     
  8. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks for the info. :bigthumb:
     
  9. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,916
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Indiana
    I still think you have something else that is dropping your processor speed below the 1.8 before speed step even kicks in.

    System properties is going to tell you what the processor speed is without speed step taken into account. Mine here shows 3.6 in system properties because that's the clock speed of the processor, CPU-Z shows the actual real time speed, speed step brings it down to 2.4 (2400) when it doesn't need to use 3.6
    [​IMG]
     
  10. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    ^ I was afraid of that.

    I actually had this issue on a 1.83ghz core 2 duo also; this time the desktop version, E4300 I think. It was compatible with my Shuttle mobo but would always report a x6.0 multiplyer no matter what I threw at it. So it would report 1.2ghz in system properties.

    What is very odd about this is it is running at roughly half speed, not 1/3 or 2/3 like I would expect if the multi was too low if the multi was a multiple of 3. Anyone know the multi of these chips?
     
  11. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,916
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Indiana
    I think the E4300 is a 9x mulit...200x9.
     
  12. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Yaa I know. I'm wondering what this T5600 is. Cause TS's one is reporting half speed, if it were stuck on 6x it would report 1.2ghz, not 987mhz. If it too has a multiplier of 9x then maybe the fsb is being clocked back.
     
  13. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    [​IMG]

    CPUZ is reporting the same issue
     
  14. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    then it's working fine.

    speedstep working, 6x166 = 996
    proc at full speed, 11x166 = 1826
    http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SL9SP#

    states that the multiplier is 11. That fucker goes to 11!

    run something that pegs the CPU, CPU-Z will report the new speed in real time.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2008
  15. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    If the multiplier was on 9, the core speed would be 9 x 166.3 which would be 1496.7Mhz; too low obviously.

    I think the fsb is too low.
     
  16. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    Oh. Specs would have helped me :rofl:

    But why would the system properties report 996. I thought it reported the full power of the processor.
     
  17. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    who cares what windows reports.

    i see 2.4 and 3.2 on my sys prop all the time. sometimes i see 3.6.
     
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    depending on how the system throttles itself it may show the slower speed if its throttled at the time the info is polled.
     

Share This Page