GUN who shoots in competitions?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by BeanesCivic, May 22, 2003.

1. BeanesCivic

BeanesCivic My Gerbil is faster than yours!!

most likley a repost, but im new to the arsenal.

bench rest, silouhette, steel plate, etc.

my dad had been shooting i.p.s.i.c.(or whatever it is) and steel plate.

i just started shooting steel plate.

2. footratfunkface

footratfunkface New Member

i shoot to gain skills, so no, i don't shoot competitions. i used to shoot for the marksmanship team in ROTC, but that was a few years ago.

bench rest. is that even shooting? the only reason i can see using a rest is to zero your rifle or check that it's actually sighted in properly. if you shoot from a rest most of the time, you're not doing anything more than just blasting rounds, no matter how slow you shoot them. there is no practical use for a bench, and you will not find them in any situation in which you will find yourself using your firearm.

/benchrest rant.

3. sushibug

sushibug :happysad:

not everyone buys guns for self defense. some people just want toys to play with.

4. meat-head

meat-head Guest

i think benchrest shooting is kind of neat. fine tuning your rifle and loads to be as consistant as possible is pretty cool in a gungeek sort of way.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 1, 2003
  5. SS109

SS109 3100 FPS OT Supporter

I don't like the gamesmanship in IPSC, but I still love to compete. I just try to improve myself.

Right now I am shooting production because it is cheapest. I probably will never get a race gun.

6. Sideways

Sideways Do I look like I give a damn?

I currently shoot production class in local matches, but I have just begun to consider IPSC shoots. It would probally finally give me a reason to justify ordering a custom Les Baer.

It's more casual, but I was all set to go to the Springfield Armory Challenge, but had a last minute thing come up :mad:

I could have owned.

7. BeanesCivic