Who here does olympic lifts (C&J/Snatch)?

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Godspeed, Aug 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Godspeed

Godspeed New Member

To those of you who do train in those lifts, do you go to a regular gym or do you have a gym that is geared more towards olympic weightlifting?

2. strykers

strykers Antimember

kinda hard to do main lifts in regular gyms, you need platforms for space and to be able to throw your plates down. you also cant use regular plates.

if you did oly lifts in a regular gym, you'll probably get kicked out.

you can do assistance lifts anywhere

Last edited: Aug 5, 2006
  3. Godspeed

Godspeed New Member

thats what i was thinking :hs: i've been lifting for a few years and have been doing deadlifts/squats the entire time but i want to start doing olympic lifts. i lift at home so i need to find a gym if i want to do that. i thought about investing in the equipment but even if i had the cash to throw around, i don't have the space.

are you into olympic weightlifting?

4. strykers

strykers Antimember

i tried olympic lifting for 3/4 of a school year at my university. i haven't decided yet if i want to do it again. i dont think im mentally fit for it.

even if you had space, you shouldn't get into oly lifting by yourself. you need someone to teach you the form or you could easily injure yourself really really really badly.

you should look up to see if there are any clubs around you. start off with some front squats, overhead squats, pulls. they will help your main lifts if you ever get into it.

if you really really really want to learn the lifts by yourself, practice with a bar and bar only and watch a bunch of videos and read tutorials, forums, books. it will be weird just using a bar cause its really light but its better than nothing

Last edited: Aug 5, 2006
  5. Devil

Devil I have become my terror. OT Supporter

having a gym that has 4 platforms with rubber oly plates ftw