Who has a NAS?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by verbal, Sep 21, 2009.

  1. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just curious to hear what NAS people in the Mac crew have. I could really use one and I'm not sure which ones to check out. Any recommendations?

    I think I'm leaning away from a Time Capsule, but I'd still like to hear the pros of one over another brand NAS.
     
  2. Mr. Kitty Litter

    Mr. Kitty Litter OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    29,801
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Here and there
    This for an organization of some sort, or home use?
     
  3. Mr. Kitty Litter

    Mr. Kitty Litter OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    29,801
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Here and there
  4. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Fuck that. LaCie have the highest failure rate of any drive on the market. Great drives if you want cheap storage and don't care about losing it all in a couple months.
     
  5. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's for home use. I'd to use it for backup purposes and have redundancy. But this would be replacing two MyBooks (1.5 tb of space total). So I could just do RAID 0 for now and use the MyBooks for backup purposes.

    I just want something centralized on the network for now. I have an old PC sitting around, but it has IDE. IDE drives are more expensive than SATA drives now. :(
     
  6. OakleyTodd

    OakleyTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I recently bought the 1tb Time capsule so thats my back up, and I have an older 320gb plextor connected to my router that my windows machines look to for media to sync ipods etc.
     
  7. Unknown User

    Unknown User New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    10,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In Your Mind
    I have a 2TB Buffalo LinkStation Pro. Very happy with it.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    does lacie actually make the hard drive that is inside of the enclosure? i've bought a few different brands of external hard drives (fantom, iomega etc) and they had western digital or seagate drives inside the enclosure
     
  9. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    They don't make the drives but they use their own chipsets on the controllers which are the root of all their issues. Throwing the drive in another enclosure doesn't resolve the issue once the data is lost either.
     

Share This Page