A&P Who can do a painting of this picture for me?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Replicant, Feb 26, 2010.

1. Replicant

Replicant New Member

It's a snapshot from the documentary Trinity & Beyond. It's of some military guys watching a test of a nuclear bomb.

I'd like to have this made into a painting. Recommendations?

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  2. BlkDrgnZ28

BlkDrgnZ28 OT Supporter

3. Replicant

Replicant New Member

Oh. Well shit.

4. adamlewis88

adamlewis88 New Member

There was a guy on here that was doing paintings. Really good ones too. I just cant remember his name...

5. N_A

N_A Member

why not do a little post and print on canvas?

6. Zeromancer

Zeromancer Pampita's Love Slave

Here is painted it on a canvas

[​IMG]

7. Wobistdu

Wobistdu Guest

what a dumbass

8. Asherman

Asherman New Member

I'm a painter and could probably do a reasonable job of making a painting from the photo. However, there are a few things you should consider first.

1. There aren't a lot of painters who specialize in photorealism. There are good reasons for that. First, is that the skill set to closely reporduce photo images in paint will only be found in a small number of very experienced painters. It also takes more time to produce this sort of art than other genres, even though most would use technilogical 'short-cuts'. These factors mean that a painter's production is lower than market demand. That equates to, you guessed it... very high minimal prices, even without considering the price differences one charges for different canvas sizes and types. The very fine surfaces used for photorealism paintings is very expensive linen, and its preparation is also timeconsuming. I very much doubt that you will find a competent photorealist painter who would take your commission for less than aroudn $8-10K, with a third unrefundable up front to start.