Which wiring kit for 300W amp?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by spooky, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. spooky

    spooky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    41,964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    Any specific kit I should get?
     
  2. Ncognito

    Ncognito Guest

    wal-mart wiring kit will be just fine..
     
  3. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I don't know a specific one you should get. I just bought a monster cable kit because it was real cheap off eBay. But, whatever you get just make sure it has 8awg or larger wire and you probably need a 30-40amp fuse.
     
  4. spooky

    spooky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    41,964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do it once, do it right. Go with 4awg.

    streetwires is decent if you want to stick with 8awg. Otherwise knuconteptz is awsome stuff, but pricey.

    Usually teh RCAs and fuse holders that come in kits are junk, so you might just wanna piece one together yourself.
     
  6. 04

    04 Guest

    wonton, what amplifier is the kit for? And how long will the power and ground cables have to be?
     
  7. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    4awg isn't really necessary for 300watts unless it is a long cable run. I would agree with you however if he plans on making future upgrades that will draw more power. Theoretically you would have to about double the length of a wire that originally was 8awg to require 4awg based on R = rho*(L/A)
     
  8. spooky

    spooky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    41,964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    Soundstream RUB300-2

    I might add an amp and sub in the future. What kit should I get?
     
  9. spooky

    spooky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    41,964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
    I am using the Soundstream to power the front components. Not sure where I want to mount the amp yet.
     
  10. Synner

    Synner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trunk floor or back of the seat is probably your best bet. You could theoretically mount it under one of the front seats, but then there's potential heat issues...and since you're asking a question like this, I'm assuming this is your first install, so a little advice. Even if this means re-running all your wiring, run your power wires down one side and your RCA's down the other. Having them cross, or even near each other, will distort the signal.
     
  11. spooky

    spooky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    41,964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    seattle
  12. 04

    04 Guest

    That amp kit should work great.
     

Share This Page