Which processor is better: Pentium or Athalon?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GlassJoe, Jul 28, 2003.

  1. GlassJoe

    GlassJoe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    62,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paris, France. Record: 1-99
    One of my friends said that an Athalon is faster than a Pentium 4 and doesn't cost as much. Keep in mind that the computer I get will only be used for games and Internet.
     
  2. Sideways

    Sideways Do I look like I give a damn?

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    29,025
    Likes Received:
    78
    ib 24 pages of Revenge of the Nerds
     
  3. BLoG

    BLoG Scented Meat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    294,233
    Likes Received:
    3,166
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Athlon = Pentium >>>> Athalon
     
  4. raptor_talon

    raptor_talon Who is the master? Sho'nuff!

    Joined:
    May 16, 2001
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T.O.
    holy crap!! it has to be the athAlon by a longshot
     
  5. P-chan

    P-chan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    52,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio....son
    WRONG FORUM!!! PLEASE DIE!! :mad:

    Kthxbye


    (someone's gotta fill in the LOUDSYSTEM gap :o )
     
  6. Rev. Johnny Vegas

    Rev. Johnny Vegas Rectal Ventriloquist

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    66,659
    Likes Received:
    158
    Location:
    250 miles north of home
  7. Jaron95

    Jaron95 "Gattai" dattou?!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    32,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    Only geeks use AMD. Professionals employ Intel. :fawk:
     
  8. P-chan

    P-chan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    52,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio....son
    :rofl: Nice. :big grin:

    I've got an Athlon desktop, a P4 desktop, and a P4 laptop - but I'm a professional geek, so that explains it :big grin:
     
  9. Jaron95

    Jaron95 "Gattai" dattou?!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    32,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    :bigthumb:
     
  10. anomaly

    anomaly If you weren't around for the original HA.net spli

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    45,411
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    SF
    In reality, with the new 800FSB processor, every Intel beats every AMD rated for it's speed. Example, a 2.4C will beat a Barton 2500+ in pretty much every real world benchmark there is. Once you get into multi-tasking (ie compressing video WHILE playing BF1942) the Barton just dies. So much for 'Hyper-Threading being bullshit' I wonder why I can run Folding @Home and still play bf 1942 with Folding setting to highest priority.
     
  11. P-chan

    P-chan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    52,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio....son
    :werd: HT is hardly bullshit - If you look at benchmarks of a 2.53ghz (533fsb, no HT) vs a 2.4c (800FSB, HT enabled), the 2.4 is about 27-32% faster on just about everything, and only about 10% of that is attributed to increased FSB speed. My P4 desktop is a 2.53ghz, no HT :wtc:
     
  12. Jaron95

    Jaron95 "Gattai" dattou?!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    32,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    wtf is Folding @Home?
     
  13. anomaly

    anomaly If you weren't around for the original HA.net spli

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    45,411
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    SF
    Basically like Seti @ home or Distrbuted Client, except Folding is for finding a cure for cancer.
     
  14. Shiva Chaos

    Shiva Chaos i see boobies!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    106,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under your bed
    my next computer will be a 3ghz p4 with corsair 3300 DDR :o

    I built it out and it's a little under 2,800 :o


    and yes I'm making it water cooled :o :fawk:
     
  15. GlassJoe

    GlassJoe New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    62,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paris, France. Record: 1-99
    what have I unleashed?
     
  16. Shiva Chaos

    Shiva Chaos i see boobies!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    106,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under your bed
    1337^2
     
  17. vudoodoodoo

    vudoodoodoo Guest

    Intel is too expensive. :wtc:
     
  18. P-chan

    P-chan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    52,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio....son
    :ugh: A 2.4c is like $150, and will OC to over 3ghz on air cooling. :confused:
     
  19. TenzoR

    TenzoR She is hot hot hot

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    sorry but Pentium M is the best processor built by Intel :o
     
  20. Shiva Chaos

    Shiva Chaos i see boobies!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    106,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under your bed

    if you have a laptop.
     
  21. vudoodoodoo

    vudoodoodoo Guest

    $150 is still too much. :o

    I got an Athlon XP 2500+ Barton for $90. :o
     
  22. TenzoR

    TenzoR She is hot hot hot

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    its coming to a server/workstation near you soon :o
     
  23. jayrod

    jayrod Lurker extraordinaire...

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    ib page 234235234
     
  24. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I saw a commercial for a Xeon once, what about those?
     
  25. Shiva Chaos

    Shiva Chaos i see boobies!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    106,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under your bed
    only if you're going to build a server
     

Share This Page