A&P which pocket digicam should i buy?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by babygodzilla, Apr 3, 2004.

1. babygodzilla

babygodzilla I love rice

im not a pro-camera man, i just like to take a gajillion snapshots everyday and everywhere. indoors, outdoors, bright, dark, rainy, whatever. so i've been lookin around for a compact digicam, something under $300. i've been reading up mostly on CNET, here

my choices were the Minolta Dimage XT, Pentax Optio S, and Canon Elph (one of the Elphs dont remember what model).

i really like the looks of the Minolta Dimage XT, and CNET ranks it the best ultracompact camera, but after reading some more a lot of people have complained about the quality of pictures taken under anything other than bright light. indoor pictures are merely average, so ive read.

my friend has the Pentax Optio S, and she says picture quality are good. but CNET says the Optio has worst quality pic compared to the Dimage XT. i also like the looks of the Optio. i've heard that its so small u can fit it in an altoids tin? not sure how true that is.

i think im pretty familiar with the Canon. i know a lot of people that have it and ive seen the quality of it, which is my only real objection of buying it. i dont wanna be another guy that has the digicam everyone has. call me anal or whatever, but i just wanna try something different. ive also heard often that the canon is slower than at least the Dimage and the Optio.

so, what do you think about the 3 cams mentioned above? or do you have any other recommendation?

Thanks a lot!!

edit: can u guys help me understand about Min/Max shutter speed? the faster the better or what?

Last edited: Apr 3, 2004
  2. johnson

johnson New Member

3. babygodzilla

babygodzilla I love rice

thx for the links

actually, my mom has the canon, and i feel its kinda slow in saving a picture, and the canon is generally more expensive than the others

4. Ballast

Ballast Cold Heartless Bastard