which linux distro is everyone using with vmware fusion?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, Apr 7, 2008.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    so, i have ubuntu 64 installed.
    I don't like how it takes almost 3 minutes to boot. my windows xp pro vmware takes about 30 seconds
    although i do like how it uses apt-get and has lots of support
    no matter what resolution i set it on inside of ubuntu, i have to resize the window everytime i boot. for now i'm just suspending and resuming sessions through vmware to avoid that
    (click here to see the messed up window)

    i also have damn small linux installed, it boots in about 10 seconds. it's kind of quirky. i'm not sure i like it, because it doesn't use apt-get or yum install for packages
     
  2. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    64bit Ubuntu isn't nearly as stable as the 32bit version for whatever reason. My Dell at work has 4GB ram, so I wanted to use 64bit Unbuntu dual-boot (64bit Vista on other) and it just was... flakey. 32bit cleared it up.
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i tried to install it through vmware as ubuntu 32bit and it gave me some warning message that i was attempting to run a 32 bit system on a 64 bit system, so i installed 64 bit

    obviously this is not meant for production, i just need a linux distro for class every once in a while

    i like fedora and centos. couldn't get centos to install, haven't tried fedora. currently downloading dreamlinux, to give a try. also going to try out pclinuxos

    opensuse sucks balls, i hate having to use yast for everything
     
  4. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    CentOS is nice if you need something real stable, as it's basically RedHat w/o the subscription.

    Fedora seems bloated to me. Oh, if you like Ubuntu, try Mint Linux, it's based off Ubuntu but with changed GUI.
     
  5. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ubuntu/beginners or Gentoo/advanced
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    can't get pclinuxos to boot in vmware, apparently this is a common problem. don't really care to search through tons of crap to fix it

    tried puppy linux, it didn't detect a network adapter for some reason
    dreamlinux didn't even have ifconfig under terminal, kind of bloated to look like os x

    i'll try linux mint tomorrow, i remember my professor telling about it
     
  7. a-money

    a-money OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    23,775
    Likes Received:
    11
    i have centos running on mine. also mint is practically a rebranded ubuntu fyi

    also did you try installing vmware tools in the virtual machine? maybe you need to do that :dunno:
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    yeah, i installed the tools, it helped when i resized the window by dragging the corner...although startup still yeilds me a giant window
     
  9. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Ubuntu
     
  10. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    backtrack2
     
  11. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    did you get vmware tools working under BT2? I had to go to the BT3 beta to successfully resize my vm window.
     
  12. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    nope, never worked. i should download the beta though
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download a pre-installed VM from VMware.
     
  14. MAD PUNK inDC

    MAD PUNK inDC Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    86,393
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    the machine
    Kubuntu for right now. I'm evaluating VM Fusion for right now, and I'll see how it works out. So far, so good, in fact I'm making this post from inside the KDE browser. :cool:
     
  15. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    update, got VMware tools installed, but they seem to go away when i reboot.
     
  16. _Trev_

    _Trev_ Ya gotta pay the troll toll... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    47,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I triple boot Leopard 10.5.2, XP SP2, and Ubuntu 8.04. I also use VMware Fusion to run the native XP and Ubuntu installations. Both have VMware tools installed
     
  17. notwist

    notwist Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    why do some of you use linux? I'm asking because i usually program in os x (Xcode) and my friend thinks it odd i'm not using linux? also, is running linux in vmware any different than giving it its own partition and using boot camp?
     
  18. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    only that you don't have to boot out
     
  19. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    never found a need for linux on my mac :dunno:

    edit: well I used lppc (?) before osx... but since osx.... :dunno:
     
  20. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,756
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio

    some of my classes require linux. its better to virtualize linux because it can be rebooted and shutdown all while you have osx running. meaning that you don't have to dedicate your machine to linux alone while running it
     
  21. GearHead

    GearHead Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,963
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Murrika
    Backtrack 3.
     
  22. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    anything significant about it that's > than bt2?
     
  23. GearHead

    GearHead Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,963
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Murrika
    Notrly. Cooler GUI.
     

Share This Page