Which is the better rider?

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by ItchySac, May 27, 2005.

1. ItchySac

ItchySac Oh, thats the spot....

Not trying to start a flame war here. Was on a street bike forum earlier and came across a topic with a pretty interesting debate. Which is the better all around rider, dirt or street... Or are they both relative?

Some good points were made in favor of dirt due to the fact a dirt rider is faced with situations a street rider would never encounter. One argument is if you took 1 dirt rider and 1 street rider. Put them both on street bikes. Then sent them on a race course with conditions like wet roads, gravel in corners, mud and dirt in spots to throw the bikes off balance. Which rider would you bet on to bring the bike back in one piece? My money would be on the dirt rider.

Not everybody agreed. I admit that I am biased towards dirt since Ive been riding for over 12 years. Just wondering if you had an opinion....

2. Ronin

Ronin Guest

i ride dirt bikes and its easy to say a street rider would have an advantage

3. ItchySac

ItchySac Oh, thats the spot....

Look at it from this point of view. A point of view not comparing it all to street riding. Which one would adapt to the other quicker? IMO, it would be much easier for a dirt rider to take up street riding than it would be for a street rider to take up dirt riding. Wouldn't that kinda tell you which style requires more general skill to be good at it?