Which Intel Processor E8400 or Q6600?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cobra050, May 9, 2008.

  1. cobra050

    cobra050 Gold Finger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    12,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor E8400 (3.0GHz, 6M, VT, 1333MHz FSB)

    or

    Intel® Core™ 2 Quad Processor Q6600 (2.40GHz, 8M, 1066MHz FSB)

    Will mainly be doing powerpoint, web, and running MATLAB code
     
  2. jdw

    jdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND
    price difference?
     
  3. cobra050

    cobra050 Gold Finger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    12,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    ~$50 more for Q6600
     
  4. Gaunt

    Gaunt blood for the blood god OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,589
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Seattle
    e8500
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    q6600 because of matlab

    plus imo,...
    you can easily overclock the q6600 to match e8400 speed.
    the e8400 will oc higher but you cannot add more cores to it.
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    if you going to spend that much on a chip, might as well spend a little more to get double the cores. you'll probably slap yourself later for not doing so
     
  7. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    Q66, cause folding is better with Quads (for the most part).
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    quad > dual. in everything but gaming.
     
  9. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    clock speed > multi-core for just about everything except for a handful apps that solve problems that lend themselves to being done in parallel, e.g. video encoders. Even with Matlab, your CPU choice should depend on whether the problems you will try to solve lend themselves to parallelism.
     
  10. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,918
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    :rofl:

    Every argument on the internet over these two processors ends up with someone bringing up that game as the trump card for the argument.
     
  11. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Funny as I never saw SupCom take more than 150% CPU usage with other tasks running.
     
  12. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Damn thats high... my task manager only goes up to 100%. Is this super CPU power part of XP SP3 / Vista SP1?
     
  13. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,918
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    It outperforms in one game? And there aren't many programs that take advantage of 2 cores let alone more. Clock speed is still king for now. But if you want a cheap quad just to have a quad then a Q6600 is for you.
     
  14. aim2kill

    aim2kill New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    deployed.
    wow. super task manager..

    i was thinking that a typo, but how could you typo a 1 a 5 and a 0 and not catch it....:eek4:
     

Share This Page