Which AMD64 CPU?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by D3xt3r, May 8, 2004.

  1. D3xt3r

    D3xt3r Snoerk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi

    Im building a new system but I dont know what chip to get for the best bang for the buck.

    AMD64 3000+ Clawhammer 512kb 1,8GHZ -> 180€
    AMD64 3000+ Newcastle 512kb 2,0GHZ -> 230€

    AMD64 3200+ Clawhammer 1024kb 2,0GHZ -> 242€
    AMD64 3200+ Newcastle 512kb 2,2GHZ -> 270€

    Which one to get for best performance and overclocking? Everything will be put into a Soltek EQ3801 Barebone with a Nforce3 250 GB with fixed agp and pci. Cooling will be homemade watercooler.
     
  2. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    3200+ Clawhammer, more cache is always nice.
     
  3. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Double the cache for teh win.
     
  4. D3xt3r

    D3xt3r Snoerk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    What about the Newcastle they are supposed to overclock better than the Clawhammer because of some fixes in the Core.
     
  5. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    3200 clawhammer. That's the one I'm getting this morning for myself:big grin:
    Don't waste your money on the others.
     
  6. D3xt3r

    D3xt3r Snoerk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ok I just got a nice deal on a AMD Clawhammer 3200+ from ebay for 205€ .
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Wow, a meg of cache, that's huge.
     
  8. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    I just got all my shit installed, and damn, this thing is fast.
     
  9. D3xt3r

    D3xt3r Snoerk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Im just waiting for my Soltek EQ3801 Barebone it should arrive here by the end of this week I hope. Now I just need to get a nice deal on a 160GB or higher SATA harddisk and Im set.
     
  10. DiScoTeknix

    DiScoTeknix Guest

    3200 clawhammer is 200mhz less then the 3200 newcastle??
     
  11. D3xt3r

    D3xt3r Snoerk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes but I has double the cache and in 90% it can be overclocked these 200MHz so it runs at 3400+ Spec.
     
  12. pharcyde183

    pharcyde183 Nissan by nature

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Just bought myself a new laptop and desktop for the summer / college Should be fun.
    your choice looks great!

    Laptop
    15" SXGA tft
    Centrino 1.6 with 1meg cache 400fbs
    512 DDR ram
    60gig 5400rpm HDD
    Radeon 9600 64meg
    4 hour battery
    CDRW/DVD drive
    wifi g/b
    10/100 nic

    Desktop:
    Silverstone case
    Athlon 64 3200+ 1meg clawhammer
    Thermaltake silent boost K8 all copper cooler
    1024 OCZ performance ram
    Gigabyte Nforce3 150mobo (i know it's not a 250 :( )
    4 ata 133 connectors and SATA 150 raid, 6 channel audio , gigabit ethernet
    Radeon 9800 pro 128meg, (pointless to waste money on anything faster, this will last through half life 2 and doom 3!) lol
    Maxtor 160gig 7200 8meg SATA 150 x2 in 320gig raid 0
    Nforce3 audio unless i stick in my audigy, no real point.
    Lite on 16x DVD ROM
    NEC DVD writer/ CD writer combo ( all formats)
    Antec 550W truepower PS
    1.44 floppy
    Bought separately my favorite mouse, logitech optical wheel mouse (black, extremely ltd ed, model i like) can't find the black ones of this model, managed on ebay to find 1 miraculously :Hs:
    and a simple $4 black lite-on keyboard, the perfect feel


    I feel like a little kid again
     
  13. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yeah, I need to upgrade kind of soon... by Christmas at the latest.

    It sucks though with so much new technology on the horizon, like PCI Express and DDRII, but I guess there will always be something "around the corner". The Athlon 64 is really the only way to go right now in my opinion. And just thinking about the Radeon X800 gets me drooling.
     
  14. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    I ended up getting the Emachine laptop :bowdown: with the Athlon 64 3000 with a meg of cache, as soon as I took of the windows that came with it and got a 64 bit linux on it, man talk about a difference. I'm never looking back at my older processors again, once you get your set up running, you'll love it. :bigthumb:
     
  15. pharcyde183

    pharcyde183 Nissan by nature

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    what's a good 64 bit linux? going to dual boot it on my new 64 desktop
     
  16. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Well right now Suse, Mandrake and Gentoo are the ones with 64 bit linux's, linuxi... distros available, it kinda depends on how experienced you are with linux as since it's still kinda buggy in some area's. Best bet might be the mandrake release.
     

Share This Page