Where to start programming?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by shohan, Nov 7, 2005.

1. shohan

shohan New Member

I've been thinking about it for a while and I've decided want to start programming. I don't really have an idea of where to start though. I have limited experience in HTML as I used it years ago with notepad and more recently with Frontpage and Dreamweaver. I'd like to start from scratch and develop a good basis so that I could go on to other languages as well without too much conflict.

Where would be a good place to start? I've taken a look at a few languages, but nothing in depth. What are the main uses for the different languages, limitations, etc?

.NET
    ASP.NET
    VB
    VC++
    VC#
    Java

Any links to guides, tutorials, good reading, anything would be helpful.

2. Deevan

Deevan Active Member

Start with C, then go for the object oriented ones. C will give you a good background a help you appreciate the beauty of polymorphism.

Java or C++ are good steps after C.

3. TenzoR

TenzoR She is hot hot hot

I'd concentrate on learning to design/develop software/application before trying to learn the programming languages: user interface (very important), OOP, etc

programming is the easiest part of any software development

any one can just pick up a book and learn teh syntax of any language but not every can write competent code that's useful and not redundant

4. Frequency

Frequency New Member

start with C then some design books then move on to c# and c++

5. RyanL

RyanL OT Supporter

To once again reinforce what everyone else is saying, start with C and then move on to C++ or JAVA.

I would stay away from Microsoft centric languages while you are starting, some of them can cause bad programming habits. PHP is another language that is great, but you are better off learning a real language before diving into something like that since PHP has the ability to also cause bad programming habits.

6. Joe_Cool