Where to find Chenbro hot swap trays?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Doc Brown, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I bought a used Chenbro SR209 server case that came with the standard full size 4-drive cage, with a hot swap SATA backplane, but no drive trays.
    I looked on the chenbro site, but I couldn't find the trays separately.


    Are hot swap trays at all standard as far as fitting these things?

    I see a lot of HP and Dell stuff available on Ebay for cheap, but I don't know what will fit.


    This is what mine looks like.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ok, after a couple of hours of googling this, I remembered that you can usually find a direct contact number if you look up a part at Newegg. So I typed in Chenbro at Newegg, got the number and ordered 4 new trays direct from Chenbro.

    All's well that ends well.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should come around more often.

    If you have 2x-3x 5.25" drive bays to spare, instead of a custom hole in the case, I'd recommend Icy Dock's hot-swap offerings. Cheap, effective, built-in cooling.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    I remember your thread on that.

    But this is a Chenbro SR209 server case that already has the 4 drive cage with the SAS/SATA backplane attached.

    All I needed was the trays.

    And I got the guy to send me the rear fan attachment for free. It was $45 total.

    That's about half of what the whole cage/backplane+trays would have ran.

    And you're not going to believe this, but, gulp, i'm going to do a RAID 1 setup.

    I'm trying to find out how much onboard memory the Areca ARC-1200 card has.
    It's not listed anywhere, other than the spec sheet says it has onboard DDR2-400 memory.
    I have seen a reference to 128mb in the user manual, but it's just a screen cap, and I'm not sure if I can trust it.

    If it really is 128mb, then i'll get one of those.
    With 128mb, it would be a good deal for $180.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816151031


    But at the very least, i'll go with the onboard RAID on my Gigabyte P45 board.
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Oh, and I was just waiting for you to catch up on post count.

    I thought you knew.


    :fawk:
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page