Where to buy hard drive bracket for dell desktop?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Original Sin, Dec 26, 2004.

  1. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    I'm looking to add a 2nd hard drive to my dimension desktop, but there is not a 2nd bracket included. Where can I buy a 2nd bracket?

    Thanks in advance,
    Scott :)
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,390
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I'm sure Dell can sell it to you, assuming you can find the right Indian in the right department through the maze. Otherwise, I bet there's a bunch on eBay.
     
  3. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    ooohhh....good call :bigthumb: I knew that i didnt want to contact dell, as that never turns out good.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    It *should* be included with your computer. They're green brackets (long and slender) attached underneath the hard drive cage. You remove them, then attach them to the new hard drive, which will then slide in.

    I've never seen a dell that didn't include 1 spare set.
     
  5. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    I opened my dell this morning to install the pci wifi card, and saw nothing :dunno:
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    is the case beige with a side panel that slides off? or is it black/charcoal with a case that splits in two like a clamshell?
     
  7. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    its black/charcoal and the left side slides off, the other panels are all riveted on :eek3: I'm not even sure the cdroms are removeable w/o drilling out the rivets.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    does the front panel come off?

    post the exact model, and I can lookup the disassembly instructions.
     
  9. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    dimension 3000
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well, no wonder... Your model uses the same cage system that eMachines uses... It looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    Installing another drive (in addition to the one already there) would require you to either remove your floppy drive and install it there, or if you have only 1 CD-ROM, you can get a 5.25>3.5" adaptor bracket and install the second drive there...

    But dell only intended your system to hold 1 HDD.
     
  11. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    It looks to me like the primary hard drive cage is designed to allow a 2nd cage to attach to it. if i go to the dell website and customize it, i can add a 2nd HD.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    is there a second hole parallel to the one in the picture? If so, go to a local computer shop and see if they have a spare eMachines HDD cage... That should work.
     
  13. Jkuao

    Jkuao New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 4700 which is the exact same case as the my 2350 and 2300 systems and it has two cages in that position w/ the SATA drive in the further out one. Dell should have either the cage or your case might actually have both. I don't know if I would stack them that close considering the heat and all.

    [​IMG]

    I just bolted my 2nd HD to the empty 5 1/4 w/ a single screw and I'll drill out a 2nd hole sometime to secure it better.
     
  14. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    you bolted the HD or the cage to the 5 1/4? Both my 5 1/4s are full, but the bay right below is empty.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    even with two screws, it'll vibrate and that could lead to premature failure.

    get this:

    http://www.directron.com/mis-kit-hd.html
     

Share This Page