GUN Where does one start?? I'm a gun noob

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Coottie, Aug 27, 2007.

1. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

Last week, my house was broken into while I was at work and I'm seriously thinking about getting a gun for protection. I'm thinking about a shotgun as opposed to a hand gun.

My problem, I'm not 100% sure I want to have a gun around the house. Primarily because I wasn't raised around them and but for a very brief time in my 20s, I've never spent time shooting or training with them. I actually don't like being around guns that much, I'm very intimidated by them and I do not feel comfortable holding them. I think this is because of my lack of experience with them.

So where does someone like me even begin? I mean I'm working on myself first...asking myself some hard questions and doing some soul searching and I'm not sure if I want to own a gun or not.....yet.

How does one go from being a total gun noob to actually buying, training and living with a gun? This prolly sounds very silly to you guys but it's where I'm at. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

2. McCroskey

McCroskey Jonny, what can you make out of this? OT Supporter

In terms of protection, I view firearm ownership with the perspective of the
    options (and problems) it creates in a worst case situation. If you don't have
    a lethal weapon (or one that inflicts severe, traumatic, and incapacitating
    injury), then your options are really to flee, hide, pray, or fight back with
    physical force. With a firearm, you have the option of all of those, plus the
    ability to keep the "bad guy" at a distance and still inflict damage.

With limited knowledge of firearms, you SHOULD be uncomfortable around
    them. Being arrogant or foolhardy could easily get you hurt, so being
    uncomfortable isn't a bad thing necessarily.

In terms of learning, ask friends that own firearms, and are reasonably