A&P Where can I learn painting knife techniques?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by JosephRawr, Oct 29, 2009.

1. JosephRawr

JosephRawr New Member

I have no experience with painting except for that one time in kindergarten when I did some awesome hand paintings.

I would really love to learn how to use the painting knife, it is my favourite style of painting that I have seen and i'd love to learn how to pain like that one day.

I would love to only learn the painting knife tool, is it required that I learn the "basics" of painting with brushes and such?

Thanks for helping me out on this one.

2. Drunken Karnie Midget

Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

Old episodes of Bob Ross.

Or google/youtube him. i'm sure there's vids online somewhere.

3. Asherman

Asherman New Member

Painting is something anyone can do. The trick is to create good paintings, and that isn't easy even for experienced painters. An amateur might, against all odds, create a wonderful painting, but it will be an accident. The serious painter works at it every day, and over time will turn out competent paintings consistently. Each painting should represent an improvement over its predecessors as the painter learns and gains experience.

Learning the fundamentals greatly increases the chance that your paintings will represent your vision properly. Knowing the capability and limitations of your media is important. The support and ground used might work for one painting, but not for others.

Pigments can be used directly from the tube, but that is expensive and those paintings are very vulnerable to cracking. Beginning painters often use turpentine, or one of the variants on the old standard, but turpentine will result in dull, lifeless color. That's OK, if your conception calls for a very, very muted picture.