where can I get the best pricing on MS Windows XP?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SnYpR808, Mar 3, 2004.

1. SnYpR808

SnYpR808 Guest

I'm a college student and I heard that I can get a significant discount on MS Office XP, but I can't find anywhere online and MS's website was no help. I'm not exactly comfortable running a pirated version of an OS, so I figured I'd buy this one (as opposed to everything else on my computer).

2. MP

MP New Member

go to your college bookstore for your educational discount.

you can get a full version of xp pro for $138 @ www.zipzoomfly.com

3. SnYpR808

SnYpR808 Guest

hmmm...that's not a bad idea. thanks.

4. SnYpR808

SnYpR808 Guest

ok, I have another problem. I can't decide whether to buy the full version or the upgrade. I'm running Windows ME right now (which i've heard is the worst version ever). Would there be any performance differences between installing the upgrade on the existing Windows ME system vs buying the full version of XP and just reformatting? I intend on building a new computer in about 4 months, so I'm going to have to install an OS on that anyway. Should I just install ME and the XP upgrade on the new computer when I build it or would it be worth it to spend the extra money to buy the full version? The reason I'm somewhat reluctant to buy the full version is that there's really no reason for me to reformat my current computer right now, and the extra cost of course.

5. MP

MP New Member

full

6. SnYpR808

SnYpR808 Guest

care to elaborate?

7. M4A1

M4A1 :)

Just buy the full. It can't be much more then the upgrade. I got mine from an FTP Store. I went from ME to XP on a 1.4ghz P4 system and the difference in speed was amazing. ME is such a pile of shit.

8. MP

MP New Member