When updating drivers...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Lateralus, Dec 8, 2004.

  1. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Do I need to uninstall everything that was originally installed with the card or just the display driver?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Just the driver
     
  3. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Thank you sir :cool:
     
  4. MacAlert

    MacAlert Maxima driver OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you really need to uninstall anything? I've been installing drivers over other drivers.
     
  5. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    :dunno: That's why I've been asking.
     
  6. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    dunno i just install drivers over drivers. never had an issue
     
  7. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    I use to do that and it would still use the old drivers.

    Right click on desktop, properties, settings, advanced, adapter (may vary on setup), properties, driver. When I was installing over old drivers, this was showing drivers from 2003 until I removed them completely.
     
  8. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    I just went ahead and did that, it automatically replaces the existing drivers anyway. I just followed the directions from ATI's website, everything works good.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Sure - but you can still force other drivers even if it does "recommend" old ones.
     

Share This Page