When I install my sound card the pc will not start, when its out, it starts HELP PLZ!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Paulie Walnuts, Sep 20, 2003.

1. Paulie Walnuts

Paulie Walnuts Im an agent of chaos

Hello all. I built a new PC. When I try and install my sound card and turn the PC on nothing happens. If I remove the sound card and boot up everything is just fine, what gives??!?!?!?!?

My sound card is an Audigy MP3+ and my mobo is a ASUS P4P800 delexe.

Please help Im new to building PCs and its driving me up a wall.
    Thank you

2. MP

MP New Member

IRQ conflict.

First thing you'll probably have to do is delete your original sound drivers, then see what irq your current sound is using and if you have any other irq free (can't use 13 or 14 don't ask why). If you go into the device manager Control Panel, select system, and then device manager.

-Under the "Ports (COM and LPT)" section, select LPT1, then click on Properties.
    -Select the Resources tab. Make note of the "Interrupt Request" value.
    -Close this window, so you are back in the Device Manager screen. Under "Sound, Video and Games Controllers", select your sound card device (this will vary depending on the type of sound card you have).
    -Select Properties. Under the Resources tab, check the Interrupt Request setting. If it is the same as the one assigned to your LPT1 port, you should change it to a different setting. What IRQs you have available depends on the amount of hardware in your system. Some video cards can be set so they do not use an IRQ (but it's not likely)

what operating system? 2000 & Xp surprisingly have irq sharing but you'll have to look at your mobo manual to figure out how to do it.

3. Paulie Walnuts

Nope that didnt work can anyone else help. I am running XP pro, this is so damn frustrating.

4. MP

MP New Member

it's gotta be irq conflict

5. Paulie Walnuts

6. Paulie Walnuts