When google craps out..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Divine Vengeance, Sep 25, 2003.

  1. Divine Vengeance

    Divine Vengeance New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    20,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got this disturbing error message when I went to google.com..

    I don't know what the fuck is up, I might was well give their suggestions a try. Anyone else ever get anything remotely like this?
     
  2. Divine Vengeance

    Divine Vengeance New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    20,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just changed my hosts file (like it said) and I'm set. Apparently ALL major search engines were blocked (Hotbot, Altavista, Lycos, Google, Dogpile, etc). I haven't downloaded anything other than, um.... "stuff" (heh). Anyone have any thoughts?
     
  3. Coco Monkey

    Coco Monkey OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    29,456
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    oh jesus christ.. . i have no idea. i've never heard or seen anythin like that before. what kinda OS you running??
     
  4. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,631
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    We knew it was something with the host file. :big grin:
     
  5. Divine Vengeance

    Divine Vengeance New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    20,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running XP. I knew it was the host file too, even before I got to that part of the message. I'm still clueless as to what the fuck rewrites the host file then tells you how to change it.
     
  6. eof

    eof New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    I fixed that for someone today....they had a ton of shit. (alot of it was kazaa related i think)

    Their Norton was going ape shit too saying it was blocking attempts to send credit card information... :eek3:
     
  7. eof

    eof New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,288
    Likes Received:
    0

    Google prob threatened legal action....=)
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Kazaa did that to my co-workers. I re-ghosted the machine.

    Once again: :bowdown: Ghost
     
  9. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    spybot search and destroy -> lock host file > *
     
  10. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    I haven't had that exact thing, but I have had to fix
    machines recently that had weird stuff installed that
    wouldn't even let them use Internet Explorer.
    I think it was related to Kazaa as well.
    I'll have to give that Spybot - Search and Destroy thing
    a shot next time.
     
  11. Jaymz22

    Jaymz22 EAT ME

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    9,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    somewhere, somehow
    i tried spybot S&D and edited the host file, but Google is still MIA. :dunno: I use Imesh, thinking of switching to kazaalite or something else when Im done with these downloads
     
  12. eof

    eof New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    7,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    you are retarded.....open your host file like it says....scroll all the way to the bottom and remove all the fucked up entrys.

    NOW
     
  13. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,566
    Likes Received:
    621
    Even better, rename your hosts file to hosts.old, and then create a new one in notepad with nothing in it except this one line:

    127.0.0.1 localhost
     

Share This Page