What's your favorite programming language and why?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Black Light, Feb 13, 2003.

1. Black Light

Black Light Guest

Just curious. Personally I love VB/VBA, even though there are more powerful languages out there, I'd rather tinker with VB till I get similar results than start using C++ or anything like that... :dunno:

2. d0nk3ypunch

d0nk3ypunch New Member

i do web shit mainly, and its almost all in PHP, some perl thrown in there when I need it. When I'm coding for the fun of it, lately its been C++ because i've been doing coding on the GBA

3. anjego

anjego Invading your economy!

I'm a PL/SQL programmer right now, but in all of the languages I've used, Java has to be my favorite by far. The least amount of "stupid shit" to worry about (memory addressing, etc) and you can focus on the PROGRAMMING part, not the lame-ass resource managemnt part.

4. Black Light

Black Light Guest

So which one language is your most favorite? :confused:

I want to decide which language I should learn next after VB. I'm considering taking a C class, since I sucked badly in my C++ class and I would use the C class as a refresher... :dunno:

I heard languages like Python and Delphi are really powerful and supposedly easy to code, is that true? :confused:

5. Black Light

Black Light Guest

What are its advantages/disadvantages vs. Visual C++? I prefer GUI interface when programming. Console (DOS-like) programming bores me... :(

6. Black Light

Black Light Guest

You use Java for that, right? :confused:

7. d0nk3ypunch

d0nk3ypunch New Member

I guess it would have to be php... while it was designed for web use, I've written muds, telnet servers, web servers, open gl apps, and normal window apps, its extremely versitile. it seems to take the best parts from most of the big languages and makes it real easy for the programmer to accomplish work without worrying about reinventing the wheel all the time.

8. Black Light

Black Light Guest