A&P What's wrong with this pic?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by SonicYan, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. SonicYan

    SonicYan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Had a shoot today and some of my pics were coming out like this:

    [​IMG]

    EXIF should still be in the picture.
     
  2. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    flash sync speed more than likely or your shutter is dunzo
     
  3. SonicYan

    SonicYan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    That's what I thought too, but flash sync speed for me is 1/200. This is at 1/160. I thought it could have been my shutter dying on me as well since it is a four year old camera, but I tried it out with my backup cam (which is about a year old) and was still getting the same results around 1/160. Not all the time, but occasional shots. Possibly the trigger or strobes not getting charged enough? :dunno:
     
  4. Xtreme2k2

    Xtreme2k2 GTI Crew ಠ_ಠ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    flash sync
     
  5. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hella
    If you're using poverty wizards(or the like), you have to shoot at a slower shutter speed.
     
  6. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    what kind of triggers are you using?
     
  7. wizeguy4

    wizeguy4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    I get this sometimes but it is horizontal line. I really want to shoot more off camera flash stuff so I can justify buying better than the cactus wizards
     
  8. BabelJoat

    BabelJoat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's portrait, thats why its a vertical line, not horizontal. But it seems strange that it's happening that severely at 1/160, are cactus triggers that bad?
     
  9. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hella
    They're a budget trigger for a reason. You shouldn't have a problem at 1/60, but give 1/120 a try.
     
  10. someonenew

    someonenew He's Dangerous

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    104,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    you say that until you finally get something that works right, and the images off camera flash produces are so much nicer.
     
  11. IntheWorks

    IntheWorks windin film.. takin pics Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    earth
    not just poverty wizards... any radio triggers you generally have to shoot slower than your xsync speed due to radio delay. But some are worse than others.

    Also, could be that the batteries in your triggers are getting low, mine do that when they batteries are close to dying.
     
  12. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Hella
    Very true.


    Along with fresh batteries, installing an external may help quite a bit too.
     
  13. SonicYan

    SonicYan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Oh ok, I didn't know cheapo triggers could cause that. Yeah, I was using an unknown brand for the trigger. Come to think of it, when I started using my external flash to trigger the strobes optically, I didn't seem to have that problem anymore.
     
  14. SonicYan

    SonicYan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Not sure, but I'm pretty sure its a generic/unknown brand. Just borrowed it from the studio I rented.
     
  15. haikii

    haikii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get that sometimes, i just open the aperture up max, then close it up and then set it up again and its all good. *shrugs* maybe its something stuck?
     

Share This Page