What's wrong with my internet?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Glennhuricane, Jul 15, 2006.

  1. Glennhuricane

    Glennhuricane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    it only works for about 20 minutes then i have to restart my computer.
    i have a motorolla sb5120 cable modem and a dlink 624 router
    i'm using wireless on my laptop and i dont have to restart that
    :dunno:
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like your router is changing the IP address of your desktop computer. Try setting the network connection properties on your desktop computer so it has a permanent IP address, and see if that helps.
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've read about problems with the routers heating up, too.

    I saw one guy who fixed the problem by rigging a small fan onto the router.
     
  4. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    the problem is you have a dlink router.
     
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you have to restart? Try resetting the router instead.

    When your computer first boots and works on the net, type:

    ipconfig

    and read the IP

    then when it breaks type ipconfig

    and read it again

    then try ipconfig /renew
     
  6. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    It could be a number of things. I'd try setting a static IP on your computer instead of using DHCP from the router first.
     
  7. Glennhuricane

    Glennhuricane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    i did this http://www.portforward.com/networking/static-xp.htm
    and still have the problem


    im gonna try this now
     
  8. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

  9. Glennhuricane

    Glennhuricane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    thanks alot, i upgraded the firmware and it seems to be working now

    the ipconfig/renew thing worked too, i could do that instead of restarting

    nevermind, it just went out again
    i think it goes it when i set up a static IP
    b/c it was working w/ a dynamic
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2006
  10. Glennhuricane

    Glennhuricane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    it was working when i downloaded the latest firmware
    then i tried to set up a staic IP and now i have the some problem again
    :wtc:
     
  11. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    buy a linksys
     
  12. Glennhuricane

    Glennhuricane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    yeah, that's what i'm about to do.
    which model would you recommend?
     
  13. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    wrt54g
     
  14. Glennhuricane

    Glennhuricane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    i was looking at that
    it seemed to have alot of bad reviews though
     
  15. codemartinet

    codemartinet lucky strikes

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    :angel: byebye router!
     

Share This Page