What's wrong with my computer?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TP, Jul 31, 2004.

  1. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    Trying to install windows xp pro. It is reading from the disk, i formatted the partition. But after it formats and starts copying the files from the disk, it keeps having trouble installing the files so i have to end up skipping a bunch of the files. This happened with both xp home and xp pro. Then if i finally do get past that and get to the "installing windows" i'll get a message like "library not found" or something like that. Any ideas on what is going on or something i need to replace on my computer?
     
  2. Apollo

    Apollo Guest

    When you say trouble, what exact error message do you get?
     
  3. galek_spoo

    galek_spoo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Del Valle, TX
    i had that same problem. was partitioning with ntfs, went to fat32 cleared it up. just now i how a fat32 file system. give that a try if you haven't already.
     
  4. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    like galek said, that sounds like a partitioning problem. i have had that with nt4, but i would have expected it to be fixed by now
     
  5. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    Tried installing with FAT32, get to the "installing windows" screen. This time i get the message "An error has been encountered that prevents setup from continuing. Setup failed to install the product catalogs. This is a fatal error. The setup log files should contain more information."
     
  6. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Could also be bad ram, xp is extremly picky about ram. Try removing a stick.
     
  7. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    just got RAM not too long ago, ill try that and be back for an update
    its stuck on the installing windows screen right now. It's been at 39 minutes remaining for like 5 minutes.
     
  8. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    reseated the ram, now it got as far as the installing devices screen.
     
  9. galek_spoo

    galek_spoo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5,417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Del Valle, TX
    now that may not have been a stoppage unless it said so. when i installed and got to devices the indicator just didn't move for like 30mins.
     
  10. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    damn. so i got past the installation screens and it looked like it was going to start up. Then after it boots, i got the message "The endpoint format is invalid". It was an lsass.exe error. I guess im going to try reinstalling once again. any ideas?
     
  11. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
  12. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    NTFS vs. FAT32 shouldn't make any difference. Its not like XP can't write to NTFS partitions.

    I've had errors copying files when installing Windows due to damaged CD's, bad CD-ROM drives, bad memory, and failing hard disks.
     
  13. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    memory is good, cd's are good(same thing happened with 2 different cd's), hard disk is pretty new, guess it might be the cd-rom? man this sucks.
     
  14. jrwfz5

    jrwfz5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia MO Mizzou Baby
    is this a pirated version on xp?
     
  15. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    no, they are the real deal disks. ive tried both xp home and xp pro and get the same results. now it went through the copying files part, and at teh very end i get the message: "Setup cannot set the required Windows XP configuration information. This indicates an internal Setup error."
     
  16. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    Still haven't been able to get it to work.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2004
  17. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Sounding more and more like a flakey CD-ROM drive. Or maybe even a bad IDE cable.
     
  18. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    changed IDE cables out. changed CD roms, that didnt work either.
     
  19. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Damn. How old is this motherboard? Maybe it has something against XP and a BIOS flash is in order.
     
  20. TP

    TP OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,218
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Austin
    actually.........motherboard is quite old, how would i go about doing a bios flash?
     
  21. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,515
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    The first thing you have to do is figure out the make, model, and revision. Once you know that, go to their web site and see if there's any BIOS updates for your board. Since its and old board, you'll probably copy the BIOS update program and new BIOS file to a bootable floppy. Boot from the floppy and run the program to flash it. They'll explain it all. Now if you don't even know who made the board, that's a problem.
     

Share This Page